icon of a paper next to Apply online text
open door next to gray writing "Visit"


Jacques Pépin kicked off our 30th anniversary celebration with an unforgettable program.  He inspired his audience with his memories of food beginning with his early childhood and continuing to his passing on the love of cooking to his grandchildren. He spoke of the need to begin teaching good eating habits from the moment a child first begins to eat and of bringing children into the kitchen and involving them in the preparation of food.  He was a gracious guest who signed hundreds of books and greeted everyone with a smile and kind words.

Be sure to keep in mind our other two events for the month of April!

On Wednesday, April 15th, the Boivin Center, together with the Center for Jewish Studies, will present a lecture featuring Sarah Lew Miller and Joyce Lazarus.  These two ladies collaborated on writing Ms. Miller’s memoir; Hiding in Plain Sight, which details her family’s evading of arrest in Paris during the Nazi occupation.  This event will take place in the Grand Reading Room of the Claire T. Carney Library at noon.  This event is free and open to the public.  Parking is available in lot 13.

On Wednesday, April 29th, award-winning author and animator of children’s books, Mo Willems will speak in the Main Auditorium on the UMass Dartmouth campus.  A six-time Emmy Award winner for writing for Sesame Street, Mr. Willems will speak about the year he and his family spent in Paris.  A Q&A and book signing will follow the program as well as a reception in Mr. Willems honor.  This event is free and open to the public.  Parking is available in lots five and six.

For further information on any of these programs, please contact Maria Sanguinetti at msanguinetti@umassd.edu or at 508-991-5096.

Past events

Illustrious individuals who have honored the Boivin Center with their presence

  • 1986: Alice Parizeau, Lucie Therrien
  • 1988: Jean-François Somain
  • 1989: Roch Carrier, Roger Violette, Omer Boivin, Lois Pines
  • 1991: Pierre Capretz, Dr.Gaëtan Brulotte
  • 1992: Brian Thompson, Gérard Le Tendre, Jacques Borel
  • 1993: Naïm Kattan
  • 1994: Alice Dawn, Albert Coté, Maxime LeForestier, Serge Kerval, Richard Wilbur, Peter Sandler
  • 1996: Dr. Madamou Soumaré, Normand Demers, Jacques Parizeau
  • 1997: Frederick Wiseman, Annie Royer, Patrick Noe, Misha DeFonseca
  • 1999: Nicole Brossard, Helene Dorion, Francine du Plessix Gray
  • 2000: Julia Child
  • 2001: Pierre de Boisdeffre, Stephane Chemlewsky, Frédéric Martel, Lisa Gossels
  • 2002: Anne-Christine Rice, Le Grand Dérangement, Marie-Claire Blais, Senator Paul Simon
  • 2003: Prof. William Carter, Marcel Marceau, Polly Platt, Maia Weschler
  • 2004: Prof. John Rassias, Prof. Adam Braver, Véronique Mistycki
  • 2005: Prof. Emmanuel Dongala, David Plante
  • 2006: Prof. Patrick Henry, Richard Hétu
  • 2007: Claudia Hommel, Bob Moreen, Jean-Claude Baker
  • 2008: Sophie Freud, Frédérique Hébrard, Louis Velle
  • 2009: Florence Delay, John De Mado
  • 2010: David Slavitt, Ruth Hartz, Margo Moore
  • 2011: Linda Urbach
  • 2012: Joan Nathan, French Cajun Celebration
  • 2013: Charles Rearick, Sophie Michaux and Artem Belogurov
  • 2014: Kathleen Turner, Guila Clara Kessous, Dr. Jeremiah J. Lowney Jr., Dr. Laura Morelli, Eric Vincent
  • 2015: Jacques Pépin