icon of a paper next to Apply online text
open door next to gray writing "Visit"
Small icon next to white bg says "Give"
plus sign and gray writing

Alumni - UMass Dartmouth and Beyond

Arts & Sciences Alumni

The graduates of the College of Arts and Sciences are leaders in the worlds of industry and business, communication, science, public service, and government. To recognize their achievements, the Samuel A. Stone Alumni Achievement Award. This award, jointly sponsored by the Alumni Association and the College of Arts  and Sciences, is given in memory of Samuel A. Stone, the founding Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.  Dr Stone, a a physicist and mathematician, oversaw the development of the College of Arts and Sciences during the trasnsition from the Southeastern Massachusetts Technological Institute to what is now UMass Dartmouth.

Stone’s vision was to provide an affordable and high quality college education to individuals who might not have had an opportunity to attend college otherwise. The first annual awards were presented in 2005 in celebration of the University's "Breaking New Ground" program.  The alumni acknowledge and cherish the opportunities that UMD and its predecessor institutions made possible and hope to honor fellow alumni whose "ground - breaking" achievements and careers are representative the quality and caliber of Sam Stone’s original vision. Awards are presented in the Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences.


Samuel A. Stone Award Recipients


Edwin Thompson, English 1969, Former Professor and Chair, UMD English Department
Lisa Antonelli, Chemistry 1979, MD
John Quinn, Economics 1985


Luis Madureira, Portuguese 1981, Associate Professor, University of Wisconsin Madison
Cynthia Marie Alves, Medical Laboratory Science 1984, MD, Cardiologist
Edward M. Lambert, Jr., Psychology 1981, former Mayor, Fall River, Director of The Urban Initiative


Ronald J. Cruz, History 1969, Director, Government Programs and Relations @MIC Industries, Inc.
Augustine Silveira, Jr., Chemistry 1957, Honorary Doctor of Science 1975, former Chairman of Chemistry Department at SUNY Oswego
Alan A. Amaral, Political Science 1969, Attorney and Founder of Yomega Corporation, President of Fall River Office of Economic Development


Kathleen B. Castro, English 1974, Superintendent’s Liaison for Dropout Prevention, New Bedford Public Schools
Frederic Walder, Chemistry 1979, Senior Vice President, Thermo Fisher Scientific, Inc.
Maria Furman, Political Science 1976, Chartered Financial Analyst, former Managing Director at Standish Ayer & Wood


Otilia S. Ferreira, MA in Bilingual Education 1987, Portuguese, Spanish, bilingual educator, Founding Donor for Ferreira Mendes Portuguese Archives
John W. Farrington, Chemistry, BS1966, MS 1968, Scientist Emeritus at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Expert for Geosciences for NSF; Presient and Chair of Board of New Bedford Oceanarium; Interim Dean of SMAST
Robert M. Koczera, Political Science 1975, State Representative, 11th Bristol District


Antonio F. D. Cabral, Portuguese 1978, State Representative, 13th Bristol District
Dr. Thomas A. Monroe, Biology 1973, MS Biology 1976,  Zoologist, National Marine Fisheries Service
Mary Lyons, Psychology 1981, Chief of Police, Mattapoisett, MA





myCoursesmyCourses myAlertmyAlert LibraryLibrary
COINCOIN HRDirectHR Direct umasspassUMass Pass
ReservItReservIt ZimbraZimbra