Faculty & Staff

Chairperson

Catherine Neto (Professor, Chair)

Chemistry of biologically active natural products, phytochemistry and health, organic analytical chemistry
Ph.D., Brown University, '88
SENG 301A
(508)910-6928; Lab: 6654

cneto@umassd.edu

 

Secretary

Maria Carreiro
M, T, W
SENG 307 (508)999-8232
mcarreiro1@umassd.edu

Rachel White
W, Th, F
SENG 307 (508)999-8232
rwhite@umassd.edu

 

 

Current Tenured/Tenure Track Faculty

Donald W. Boerth (Chancellor Professor)
Physical organic chemistry, molecular orbital studies, structure-activity studies of mutagens, theoretical
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, ‘74.
SENG 316 (508)999-8244
dboerth@umassd.edu 

Patrick J. Cappillino (Assistant Professor)
Inorganic Chemistry
Ph.D., Boston University, '09
Violette 201C (508)910-6639
pcappillino@umassd.edu

Shuowei Cai (Associate Professor)
Bioanalytical chemistry
Ph.D., Univeristy of Massachusetts, '01
Violette 210 (508)999-8807, Fax 8451
scai@umassd.edu

Maolin Guo (Professor)
Biochemistry and molecular biology, protein engineering, structural biology, bioinorganic, bioorganic chemistry, nutritional biochemistry and analytical biochemistry
Ph.D., Edinburgh University, '00.
Violette 218 (508)999-8871
mguo@umassd.edu

Xiaofei Jia (Assistant Professor)
Biochemistry
Ph.D., Michigan State University, '08
Violette 211B (508)999-8212
xjia@umassd.edu

David Manke (Assistant Professor)
Inorganic Chemistry
Ph.D., MIT, '05.
Violette 201B (508)910-6554
dmanke@umassd.edu

Maricris Mayes (Assistant Professor)
Theoretical and Computational Chemistry
Ph.D., Michigan State University, '07
SENG 311 (508)999-8420
mmayes@umassd.edu

Emmanuel Ojadi (Associate Professor)
Chemical physics, laser spectroscopy and applications, photochemistry, photophysics and photobiology of porphyrins and analogous systems
Ph.D., Brandeis University, '86
SENG 307A (508)999-8252 Lab 9246, 8292
eojadi@umassd.edu

Sivappa Rasapalli (Associate Professor)
Organic chemistry
Ph.D., University of Pune, India, '02
Violette 216 (508)999-8276 Lab 9209
srasapalli@umassd.edu

Yuegang Zuo (Professor)
Analytical chemistry, environmental chemistry, marine chemistry and photochemical transformation of organic and inorganic substances in the environment
Ph.D., Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETH2) ‘92.
SENG 325B (508)999-8959 
yzuo@umassd.edu 

Faculty Emeritus

Alan H. Bates, inorganic chemistry; Ph.D., Harvard University, ‘70.

Russell R.Bessette, analytical chemistry, Ph.D. University of Massachusetts Amherst, '67.

William L. Dills, Jr., biochemistry Ph.D., University of Vermont, ‘73.

David Z. Goodson, Chemical physics, Ph.D., Harvard University, '87 (dgoodson@umassd.edu)

James A. Golen, physical inorganic chemistry, Ph.D., UMass Amherst, ‘70.

Michele I. Mandrioli, inorganic chemistry/course website development; Ph.D., Clark University, ‘77.

J. Donald Smith, biochemistry, Ph. D. University of Chicago, '69.

Timothy C. K. Su, physical chemistry, Ph.D., Wayne State University, '71.

Margaret A. Wechter, analytical chemistry, Ph. D., Iowa State University, '67.

Chang-Ning Wu, organic chemistry, Ph.D. University of Iowa, ' 64.

Full-Time Lecturers

Brian Blanchette
Analytical-Biochemistry;
Ph.D. University of Massachusetts Lowell/Dartmouth, '02
SENG 310 (508)999-8059
bblanchette@umassd.edu

Christine Piva
Pharmaceutical Sciences;
Ph.D. University of Rhode Island, '15
SENG 308B (508)999-8297
u_cdao@umassd.edu

Jamie Lawton
Physical Chemistry;
Ph.D. Northeastern University, '10 
SENG 304 (508)999-8246
jlawton2@umassd.edu

Anne Liberty
M.S., University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
SENG 301C (508)910-6476
anne.liberty@umassd.edu

Olusegun B Olubanwo
Organic Chemistry;
Ph. D. UMass Lowell/Dartmouth, '10
SENG 303 (508)910-6975
dele.olubanwo@umassd.edu

Melissa Silvia
SENG 302 (508)910-6909
msilvia@umassd.edu

Yibin Wei
SENG 304B (508)999-8234
Ph.D., Shanxi University, '05
yibin.wei@umassd.edu

Technical Staff

Robert Berry (NMR Manager and Lecturer)
SENG 304B (508)999-8297
rberry@umassd.edu

Carl Leidhold (Technician) 
SENG 314 (508)999-8243
cleidhold@umassd.edu 

Paula Wilson (Technician)
SENG 308A (508)999-9269
pwilson@umassd.edu

QuickLinks

x

+