icon of a paper next to Apply online text
open door next to gray writing "Visit"
Small icon next to white bg says "Give"
plus sign and gray writing

Faculty & Staff

Chairperson

Emmanuel Ojadi (Associate Professor, Chair)

Chemical Physics, laser spectroscopy and applications, photochemistry, photophysics and photobiology of porphyrins and analogous systems
Ph.D., Brandeis University, '86
SENG 307
(508) 999-8252; Lab: 999-9246; 999-8292

eojadi@umassd.edu

 

Secretary

Lynne C. Boerth
SENG 307 (508)-999-8232(M,T,W)
lboerth@umassd.edu

Rachel White 
SENG 307 (508)-999-8232(W,R,F)
rwhite@umassd.edu

Current Tenure Track Faculty

Donald W. Boerth (Chancellor Professor)
Physical organic chemistry, molecular orbital studies, structure-activity studies of mutagens, theoretical;
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, ‘74.
SENG 316 (508)-999-8244
dboerth@umassd.edu 

Shuowei Cai (Associate Professor)
Bioanalytical chemistry
Ph.D., Univeristy of Massachusetts, '01
Violette 201 (508)-999-8807, Fax 8451
scai@umassd.edu

Maolin Guo (Associate Professor)
Biochemistry and molecular biology, protein engineering, structural biology, bioinorganic, bioorganic chemistry, nutritional biochemistry and analytical biochemistry.
Ph.D., Edinburgh University, '00.
Violette 218 (508)-999-8871
mguo@umassd.edu

David Manke (Assistant Professor)
Inorganic Chemistry
Ph.D., MIT, '05.
SENG 310 (508)-910-6554
dmanke@umassd.edu

Maricris Mayes (Assistant Professor)
Theoretical and Computational Chemistry
Ph.D., Michigan State University, '07
SENG 216A (508)999-8420
mmayes@umassd.edu

Catherine Neto (Professor)
Chemistry of biologically active natural products, phytochemistry and health, organic analytical chemistry
Ph.D., Brown University, '87
SENG 301A (508)-910-6928 Lab 6654
cneto@umassd.edu

Sivappa Rasapalli (Assistant Professor)
Organic chemistry
Ph.D., University of Pune, India, '02
Violette 216 (508)-999-8276 Lab 9209
srasapalli@umassd.edu

Bal Ram Singh (Professor)
Physical biochemistry, studies of biomacromolecules, spectroscopy of proteins of membranes, studies of biosensors and neurotoxins
Ph.D., Texas Technological University, '87
Violette 210 (508)-999-8588; Lab-8250; Fax 8451
bsingh@umassd.edu

Timothy C.K. Su (Chancellor Professor)
Physical chemistry, ion-molecule reactions, polymer science
Ph.D., Wayne State University, '71
SENG 317 (508)-999-8238
tsu@umassd.edu

Yuegang Zuo (Professor)
Analytical chemistry, environmental chemistry, marine chemistry and photochemical transformation of organic and inorganic substances in the environment.
Ph.D., Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETH2) ‘92.
SENG 325A (508)-999-8959 
yzuo@umassd.edu 

Faculty Emeritus

Alan H. Bates, inorganic chemistry; Ph.D., Harvard University, ‘70.

Russell R.Bessette, analytical chemistry, Ph.D. University of Massachusetts Amherst, '67.

William L. Dills, Jr., biochemistry Ph.D., University of Vermont, ‘73.

David Z. Goodson, Chemical physics, Ph.D., Harvard University, '87 (dgoodson@umassd.edu)

James A. Golen, physical inorganic chemistry, Ph.D., UMass Amherst, ‘70.

Michele I. Mandrioli, inorganic chemistry/course website development; Ph.D., Clark University, ‘77.

J. Donald Smith, biochemistry, Ph. D. University of Chicago, '69.

Margaret A. Wechter, analytical chemistry, Ph. D., Iowa State University, '67.

Chang-Ning Wu, organic chemistry, Ph.D. University of Iowa, ' 64.

Full-Time Lecturers

Brian Blanchette
Analytical-Biochemistry;
Ph.D. University of Massachusetts Lowell/Dartmouth, 02.

Anne Liberty
M.S., University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Olusegun B Olubanwo
Organic Chemistry;
Ph. D. UMass Lowell/Dartmouth '10
SENG 303 (508)-910-6975
dele.olubanwo@umassd.edu

Melissa Silvia
SENG 302 (508)-910-6909
msilvia@umassd.edu

Yibin Wei
SENG 311A (508)999-8234
Ph.D., Shanxi University, '05

Technical Staff

Carl Leidhold (Technician) 
SENG 314 (508)-999-8243
cleidhold@umassd.edu 

Paula Wilson (Technician)
SENG 308A (508)-999-9269
pwilson@umassd.edu

QuickLinks

x

myUMassD

x

myCoursesmyCourses myAlertmyAlert LibraryLibrary
COINCOIN HRDirectHR Direct umasspassUMass Pass
ReservItReservIt ZimbraZimbra
+