icon of a paper next to Apply online text
open door next to gray writing "Visit"


Who are the Public Policy faculty?

The Master of Public Policy Program consists of both core faculty members and a variety of affiliated faculty  from different departments throughout the university. All faculty contribute their knowledge and expertise to the program through a number of cross-listed courses each semester.


Clyde W. Barrow, Ph.D.
Political Science, University of California, Los Angeles
Chancellor Professor
Director, Center for Policy Analysis
Dr. Barrow specializes in Massachusetts public policy, policy formation, gaming policy, and regional economic development.
Email: cbarrow@umassd.edu


Michael D. Goodman, Ph.D.
Sociology, Boston University
Associate Professor
Department Chair
Dr. Goodman specializes in economic development, demographic analysis and housing policy and is Co- Editor of MassBenchmarks, the journal of the Massachusetts economy published by the UMass Donahue Institute in collaboration with the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston.
Email: mgoodman@umassd.edu


Weiwei Lin, Ph.D.
Public Administration, Rutgers University-Newark
Assistant Professor
Dr. Lin specializes in non-profit management and performance measurement.
Email: wlin@umassd.edu


Devon Lynch, Ph.D.
Economics, University of Colorado, Boulder
Assistant Professor
Dr. Lynch holds a joint appointment and teaches both in the Department of Public Policy and the Department of Economics. His interest is applied microeconomics, particularly in the field of public and labor economics and his research focus is on enterprise zone programs.
Email: dlynch@umassd.edu


Chad McGuire, J.D.
Law, Thomas Jefferson School of Law, L.L.M.
Environmental Law, University of San Diego School of Law
Assistant Professor
Professor McGuire specializes in environmental law and policy and oversees the Department's Certificate Program in Environmental Policy. For more information about Professor McGuire's research interests visit: http://works.bepress.com/chad_mcguire/
Email: cmcguire@umassd.edu


Joao Paraskeva, Ph.D.
Education, University of Minho (Portugal)
Associate Professor
Professor Paraskeva specializes in Educational Leadership, Critical Theory and Educational Policy.


Shawna E. Sweeney, Ph.D.
Political Science, Binghamton University
Assistant Professor
Senior Research Associate, Center for Policy Analysis
Dr. Sweeney specializes in women's public policy issues, human rights policy, and globalization policies.
Email: ssweeney@umassd.edu

Contact Us

For additional information concerning the Master of Public Policy, please contact the program director:

Dr. Michael Goodman