Faculty

STEM Education and Teacher Development Faculty

 2014 group picture

Faculty OfficePhoneEmail
Chandra Orrill
Chair and Associate Professor
Chandra is interested in teachers' mathematical knowledge and how to support teachers' mathematical learning. Most of her research focuses on middle school teacher's knowledge related to multiplicative reasoning.  LA-399L 774.929.3052 corrill@umassd.edu
Beste Güçler
Associate Professor 
Beste’s present work explores how mathematical discourse develops over history and in undergraduate calculus classes with a focus on the concept of limit.  LA-396C  508.910.6952  bgucler@umassd.edu
Maureen Hall
Professor
Maureen is interested in English Education, middle and secondary education, literacy, developmental reading and language arts k-12, curriculum design, professional development, community-making, innovation and reform LA-398C 508.999.8211 mhall@umassd.edu
Shakhnoza Kayumova
Assistant Professor
Shahknoza is interested in the conditions of possibility for English Language Learners within STEM content area classes in K-12.  LA-399K 508.910.9033 skayumova@umassd.edu
Sheila Macrine
Associate Professor
Sheila is interested in Reading/Special Education, Education Reform, and Critical-Feminist Theory LA-398F 508.999.9234 smacrine@umassd.edu
Karen Terrell
Full-Time Lecturer
Karen's research is focused on how to prepare teachers to meet the needs of English Language Learners in their classrooms. LA-399A 508.910.6617 kterrell@umassd.edu
Stephen Witzig
Assistant Professor
Stephen studies the development of teachers' specialized knowledge for teaching science. LA-398E 508.910.9030 switzig@umassd.edu

Christopher Clinton

 

LA-399K

508.910.6097  cclinton@umassd.edu

Walter Stroup

 

LA-398B

   

 

Emeritus Faculty Email
Armand Desmarais
Professor Emeritus
Teaching in certification and mentoring, teacher induction. adesmarais@umassd.edu
Cynthia Kruger
Professor Emeritus
Middle and secondary education, curriculum development, methodology, social studies, reading, inclusive education. ckruger@umassd.edu

 

StaffOfficePhoneEmail
Traci Almeida
Graduate Admissions Coordinator
LA-372 508.999.8098 talmeida@umassd.edu
Carol Hansen
STEM Education Secretary
LA-398F 508.999.8262 chansen1@umassd.edu

 
 

Educational Leadership Faculty

Joao Paraskeva faculty image

 


 

João Paraskeva Ph.D., University of Minho, Portugal (2004)
Professor; Specializes in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Curriculum Theory and Development, Critical Theory, Qualitative Methods, Southern Theory.

 

 


Ismael Ramirez-Soto image

 

 
 

Ismael Ramirez-Soto Ed.D., University of Massachusetts Amherst (1984) , J.D. University of Puerto Rico School of Law (1977)
Specializes in Educational Policy and the Law, Equity and Educational Finance, Educational Leadership, and K-20 Administration.




Ricardo Rosa faculty image

 

 

Ricardo D. Rosa Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison (2011) Assistant Professor; Specializes in Curriculum and Instruction, Language Policies, Literacy and Social Studies Education.

 

 

 


Kenneth Saltman

 

 

Kenneth Saltman, Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University, McGill University, Professor; Specializes in Educational Policy and Politics, Sociology of Education, Social and Cultural Theory, Curriculum Theory, Educational Leadership, Globalization and Education, Critical Pedagogy, Political Economy of Education.

 

 

 


  

Traci Almeida
Graduate Admissions Coordinator
508-999-8098
talmeida@umassd.edu

 



Mete, Anna

Educational Leadership
200 Mill Road, Fairhaven
508-910-9039
amete@umassd.edu

 

 

QuickLinks

x

+