Faculty Federation

Video Series:  UMass Dartmouth Unions Speak Up

Please click on the names below to watch video presentations by union members to learn more about what your union can do for you:

Dr. Dan Georgianna, Past Faculty Federation President

Verena Lisinski, ESU Grievance Officer

Cindy Costa, AFSCME President


2016 Award Recipients

The UMass Faculty Federation, Local 1895 presents the Teacher of the Year Award to two faculty members:  Chad McGuire, Ph.D., Public Policy and Kristen Sethares, Ph.D., Adult Nursing; the Bruce A. Sparfven ESU Service Award to Richard Legault, Senior Technical & Training Specialist,  Computer and Information Technology Services and the Scholar of the Year Award to Honggang Wang, Ph.D., Electrical and Computer Engineering.




2016 Jay Porter Scholarship Recipients


Amanda Schell

Major:  Second Year Psychology Major

Parent is a member of AFSCME Council 93 Local 1700


Antoun Fares

Major:  Third Year Chemistry Major in the Honors Program

Mother is a member of Stop and Shop Union UFCW Local 1445




The UMass Faculty Federation, Local 1895, American Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO was chartered in 1968. The founding date for UMass Dartmouth's predecessor institutions was chosen as the Local number. Our first contract, negotiated in 1970, was one of the first collective bargaining agreements for Universities in the U.S. The Faculty Federation represents full time and part time faculty, librarians, and professional staff in two bargaining units: the Faculty Unit and the Educational Services Unit (ESU)