Faculty and Staff Contacts

Honors Program Staff | Honors Student Council | Coordinators for Colleges

Students can find the Honors Center at the Claire T. Carney Library, Room 212. Students can also locate the Honors Program Director and Cindy Pisapia to ask any questions about the Honors Program.

 


   Honors Program Staff


 

Catherine Villanueva GardnerInterim Association Director of the Honors Program

Director of the University Honors Program; Professor, Department of Philosophy and Women's and Gender Studies

Office: Library Room 215

Professor Catherine Villanueva Gardner specializes in feminist philosophy, especially ethics, epistemology, and the retrieval of forgotten historical women philosophers. Her most recent book Empowerment and Interconnectivity: Toward a Feminist History of Utilitarian Philosophy (PSU Press, 2012) explores whether there is a distinctive feminist approach to the history of philosophy. Her first book Women Philosophers: Genre And The Boundaries Of Philosophy (Westview, 2003) examines why women philosophers have been excluded from the philosophical canon. Gardner was also invited to write a reference work, Historical Dictionary of Feminist Philosophy (Scarecrow, 2006). In addition, Gardner has published articles in journals and edited collections.

Email: cgardner@umassd.edu
Telephone: 508.999.8253


Brian Ayotte

Associate Director of the University Honors Program, Associate Professor of Psychology

Office: LARTS Room 347

Professor Ayotte is an Associate Professor of Psychology at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth. He is also an adjunct faculty member of Center on Aging at Hebrew SeniorLife, an affiliate of Harvard Medical School. His research focuses primarily on the role of individual characteristics and interpersonal relationships in health and health behaviors throughout the life span. Prof. Ayotte has published over 16 peer reviewed articles and contributed to several book chapters.

Email: bayotte@umassd.edu
Telephone: 508.999.9206


‌Zhaojin (Lily) Xu

Interim Coordinator of Success and Advising, Assistant Professor, Accounting and Finance

Office: CCB Room 212


Anupama Arora

Interim Coordinator of Communications & Outreach, Associate Professor, English

Office: LARTS, Room 322

 


Cindy Pisapia

Administrative Assistant for the University Honors Program

Office: Library Room 214

Cindy Pisapia has been at UMass Dartmouth for 28 years. During that time, she has worked for the College of Visual and Performing Arts, the Center for Marine and Science Technology, and for the last 17 years, she has worked for the Honors Program.

Email: cpisapia@umassd.edu
Telephone: 508.999.8820, Fax: 508.910.6541


 

 

Return to Top


  Honors Council Student Directors

 

‌‌

Aliesha Patterson
Student Director

Email: apatterson@umassd.edu

 

Julianna Bardon
Associate Student Director

Email:  jbardon@umassd.edu


Secretary

Email: @umassd.edu

 


Treasurer

Email: @umassd.edu

Return to Top


  Honors Committee

 

John Buck
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Office: Dion Room 324D
Phone: 508.999.9237
jbuck@umassd.edu

 

Gary Davis
Professor, Mathematics
Office: LARTS, Room 394E
Phone: 508.999.8739
gdavis@umassd.edu

 

Gavin Fay
Assistant Professor, Fisheries Oceanography
Office: 200 Mill Road, Fairhaven
Phone: 508.910.6363
gfay@umassd.edu

 

Robert Jones
‌Professor/Chairperson, Economics
Office: Dion Room 376
Phone: 508.910.6607
rjones@umassd.edu

 

Hilary Kraus
Associate Librarian, Library/Information Services
Office: Library, Room 238
Phone: 508.999.8681
hkraus@umassd.edu

 

Bruce Maddocks
Full Time Lecturer, Design
Office: CVPA, Room 302A
Phone: 508.910.6977
bmaddocks@umassd.edu

 

Stephanie O'Hara
Associate Professor, Foreign Literature and Languages
Office: LARTS, Room 252
Phone: 508.999.8336
sohara@umassd.edu

 

Ismael Ramirez-Soto
Associate Professor, Educational Leadership
Office: 200 Mill Road, Fairhaven, Room 17
Phone: 508.910.9029
iramirezsoto@umassd.edu

 

 Honors program coordinator

Kristen Sethares
Associate Professor and PhD Program Director, Adult Nursing

Office: Dion, Room: 308 B
Phone: 508.999.9148 
ksethares@umassd.edu

 

 

QuickLinks

x

+