icon of a paper next to Apply online text
open door next to gray writing "Visit"

University Information

UMass Dartmouth is one of five campuses of the University of Massachusetts system, which is governed by a 22-member Board of Trustees with headquarters in Boston, Massachusetts. Our campus, located in North Dartmouth, Massachusetts, is led by Chancellor Divina Grossman.

Within a climate that is inclusive, open, and diverse, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth offers a world class education to more than 9,300 undergraduate and graduate students each year. Consistently ranked as the top public “Master’s” University in New England by U.S.News and World Report, UMass Dartmouth has transformed the lives of 40,000 alumni and plays a significant economic role in southeastern Massachusetts and beyond.

Paul Rudolph was the architect for UMass Dartmouth’s original master plan and for the design of most of the buildings on campus. Enjoy more information on the history of the University, including the design of the campus and Paul Rudolph's Brutalist style of architecture.

UMass Dartmouth, originally called Southeastern Massachusetts Technological Institute (SMTI), is not one of the architect’s most well- known projects but it is one of the most significant. Here, he not only created a unified master plan on a completely empty site but also designed individual buildings and surrounding grounds as well. SMTI /UMass Dartmouth, considered ground-breaking in its day, remains a monumental achievement. 

Although many buildings and offices have been modified over the years to accommodate growth, you can still recognize much of Rudolph's influence.


Updated 01/22/2013