Funding your research

There are two ways to fund your research

OUR funding

Fall and spring

The Office of Undergraduate Research offers awards for the fall and spring semester to help support student research projects. Undergraduate students in any department at UMassD who are engaged in original research under the guidance of a faculty member are encouraged apply

Summer

The Office of Undergraduate Research offers a competitive summer stipend initiative to facilitate the fulltime research activity of UMass Dartmouth undergraduates during summer. As with all OUR programs, research is broadly conceived and takes place in any and all disciplines. All UMass Dartmouth undergraduates who will re-enroll in Fall 2017 are eligible to apply.

Questions should be directed to Dr. Mark Silby, and completed applications should be sent directly to our@umassd.edu

External Funding

Numerous groups outside UMass Dartmouth provide funding for undergraduate research.

  • Federal agencies (eg. NSF)
  • Professional societies
  • Private foundations

External funding sources and associated UMassD contacts: 

Harry S. Truman Scholarship
contact Prof. Doug Roscoe, Political Science
droscoe@umassd.edu

Barry Goldwater Scholarship
contact Prof. Mark Silby, Biology
mark.silby@umassd.edu

Fulbright
contact Prof. Tim Walker, History
twalker@umassd.edu

Marshall Scholarship
contact Prof. Catherine Gardner, Philosophy
cgardner@umassd.edu

All art and museum grants
contact Prof. Pamela Karimi, Art History
pamela.karimi@umassd.edu

White House Fellowships & Internships
contact Amelia Scott, Career Development Center
ascott4@umassd.edu

In addition to these listed sources, you may have found other organizations that provide funding for undergraduate research. See your faculty advisor and OUR for help. 

If you have questions about the funding opportunities listed below, contact the Office of Undergraduate Research, our@umassd.edu

QuickLinks

x

+