icon of a paper next to Apply online text
open door next to gray writing "Visit"

Days of religious observance

Religious Observances http://www.interfaithcalendar.org/

 

 

Major Days of Religious Observance  
   
  • B = Buddhist
 
  • Ba = Baha'i
 
  • C = Christian
 
  • H = Hindu
 
  • J = Jewish
 
  • M = Muslim
 
  • S = Sikh
 
   
Please note that Jewish, Baha'i, and some Muslim religious observances 
begin at sundown of the previous day. This list is not exhaustive.  
   
Fall 2013  
   
Rosh Hashanah (New Year)/J  Sep 4-6 (Wed-Fri)
Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement)/J  Sep 13 (Fri)
Sukkot (Festival of Tabernacles)/J  Sep 18-25 (Wed-Wed)
Eid al-Adha (Day of Sacrifice)/M  Oct 14 (Mon)
Diwali (Festival of Lights)/H  Nov 3 (Sun)
Al-Hijra (Islamic New Year)/M  Nov 5-Dec 3 (Tue-Tue)
Birth of Baha'u'llah/Ba  Nov 11 (Mon)
Bodhi Day (Enlightenment)/B  Dec 8 (Sun)
Christmas (Birth of Jesus)/C (legal holiday)  Dec 25 (Wed)
   
Spring 2014  
   
Shiva Ratri (Worship of Shiva)/H  Feb 28 (Fri)
Naw-Ruz (Baha'i and Iranian New Year)/Ba  Mar 21 (Thu)
Rama Navami (Birth of Rama)/H  Apr 8 (Tue)
Hana Matsuri (Birth of Buddha)/B  Apr 8 (Tue)
Baisakhi (Brotherhood - Sisterhood)/S  Apr 14 (Mon)
Passover/J  Apr 14-21 (Mon-Mon)
Good Friday (Crucifixion of Jesus)/C Apr 18 (Fri)
Easter (Resurrection of Jesus)/C Apr 20 (Sun)
First day of Ridvan (Declaration of Baha'u'llah)/Ba   Apr 20 (Sun)
Wesak (in celebration of the Buddha)/B  May 13 (Tue)
   
Summer 2014  
   
Shavuot/J  June 3-5 (Tue-Thu)
Ramadan Begins/M  Jun 28 (Sat)
Eid al Fitr (End of Ramadan)/M  Jul 29 (Tue)


QuickLinks

x

+