SMAST Directory

School for Marine Science & Technology (SMAST) Directory

Find contact information for SMAST faculty, staff, graduate students, and PhD candidates below.

  Name / CV / Email
Office # / Ph. # Lab/ Program
Altabet, Mark A. Altabet, Mark
Professor/Chair, DEOS
maltabet@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 122A
508-999-8622
Biogeochemistry
Costa, Cynthia

Arena, Richard
Research Associate

rarena@umassd.edu

 

508-910-6377 Ocean Observation
 FAX, Administration Armstrong, Michael
Adjunct Professor
michael.armstrong @state.ma.us
Massachusetts Division of Marine Fisheries
978-282-0308 x109
Fisheries Oceanography
  Austin, Alan
Graduate Student/ Lab Assistant
aaustin2@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Room 158B Oceanographic Remote Sensing Lab
Bank, Crista Bank, Crista
Research Technician
cbank@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 300
508-910-6392
Fisheries Biology and Assessment
SMAST logo blue Barrett, Diana
Graduate Student
dbarrett@umassd.edu
Violette 205 Biology
Beardsley, Robert Beardsley, Robert
Adjunct Professor
rbeardsley@whoi.edu
WHOI
508-289-2536
Fisheries Oceanography
Benson, Jennifer Benson, Jennifer
Research Technician
Jennifer.benson@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 119
508-910-6325
Coastal Systems
Bethoney, David Naiff Bethoney, Naiff David
Research Assistant Professor 
nbethoney@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 305
508-910-6386
Fisheries Oceanography
Bisagni, James Bisagni, James
Professor Emeritus
jbisagni@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 325 
508-910-6328
Oceanographic Remote Sensing
Eleanor Bochenek Bochenek, Eleanor
Adjunct Professor
bochenek@hsrl.rutgers.edu
Rutgers University
609-898-0928 ext 1
Fisheries Oceanography
portrait, small Bourbonnais, Annie
Research Assistant Professor
annieb@uvic.ca
SMAST I, Rm 206 Biogeochemistry
 Thompson, Stephanie Brink, Kenneth
Adjunct Professor
kbrink@whoi.edu
  Department of Estuarine and Ocean Sciences
Brown, Wendell S.
Professor
wbrown@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 214A
508-910-6395
Ocean Observation
Brown, Dana Brown, Dana
Graduate Student
u_dbrown@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 216
508-910-6337
Marine Turbulence
Ann Bucklin Bucklin, Ann Cone
Adjunct Professor
ann.bucklin@uconn.edu
University of Connecticut
860-405-9208
Biological Oceanography - Plankton Ecology
Cadrin, Steve Cadrin, Steven
Department of Fisheries Oceanography Chair and Professor
scadrin@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 303
508-910-6358
Fisheries Biology and Assessment
Calabrese, Nicholas
Graduate Student
ncalabrese@umassd.edu
SMAST II, 010A Marine Fisheries Field Research
Cassidy, Kyle Cassidy, Kyle
Technical Associate 
kcassidy@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 300
508-910-6367
Marine Fisheries Field Research
50-px-wide portrait of Sumit Chakraborty Chakraborty, Sumit
Post-Doctoral Researcher
schakraborty@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 206
508-910-6389
Marine Ecosystem Science
Chen, Changsheng Chen, Changsheng
Professor and Montgomery Charter Chair
c1chen@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 210
508-910-6388
Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling
Shuo Chen Chen, Shuo
Graduate Student
schen2@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 206
508-542-9455
Biogeochemistry
Jim Churchill Churchill, James
Adjunct Professor
jchurchill@whoi.edu
WHOI
508-289-2807
Computational Methods Laboratory
 ‌SMAST logo blue Conference Room SMAST II, Rm 325A
508-999-9193
 
50px-wide portrait of Cindy Costa Costa, Cynthia
Assistant to the Dean
ccosta3@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 106
508-910-6550
Administration
Cotter, Mark P. Cotter, Mark P.
Graduate Student
mcotter@umassd.edu
SMAST II, 010A
508-944-4664
Biology
Cowles, Geoffrey Cowles, Geoffrey
Associate Professor
gcowles@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 218
508-910-6397
Computational Methods Laboratory
Curtis, Tobey Curtis, Tobey
Graduate Student
tcurtis@umassd.edu
SMAST II, 010A Fisheries Biology and Assessment
Deignan, Michael P. Deignan, Michael P.
Computer Systems Administrator
mdeignan@umassd.edu
SMAST 1, Rm 201/202
508-910-6302
Administration
Eldridge, Sherri Ann Eldridge, Sherri Ann
Graduate Student
seldridge@umassd.edu
  Biology
Farrington, John W. Farrington, John W.
Adjunct Professor
jfarrington@umassd.edu
WHOI, Emeritus Biogeochemistry
 FAX, Administration FAX, Administration SMAST I, Rm 106
508-999-8197
-
 FAX, SMAST I FAX, SMAST I SMAST I, Rm 206
508-910-6371
-
FAX, SMAST I FAX, SMAST II SMAST II, Rm 325
508-910-6374
-
Assoc. Prof. Gavin Fay 
Assistant Professor
gfay@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 325B
508-910-6363
The Fay Lab
Michael Fogarty Fogarty, Mike
Adjunct Professor
Michael.Fogarty@noaa.gov
NOAA/NMFS, Northeast Fisheries Science Center
508-495-2386
Fisheries Oceanography
Kathryn Ford Adjunct Faculty Ford, Kathryn
Adjunct Professor
kathryn.ford@state.ma.us
MA Div. Marine Fisheries
774-279-3695
Biogeochemical Particle Flux and Sedimentation
Fox, Christine Fox, Christine
Clerk IV - DFO
cfox@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 300
508-910-6351
Fisheries Oceanography
Ben Galuardi with tuna tail  Galuardi, Benjamin
Graduate Student
bgaluardi@umassd.edu
SMAST II, 010A Fisheries Biology and Assessment
Gangopadhyay, Avijit Gangopadhyay, Avijit
Professor
agangopadhya@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 325 
508-910-6330
Oceanographic Modeling and Analysis

Chancellor Professor Emeritus
dgeorgianna@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 304
508-910-6378
Economics
Goehringer Toner, Dale Goehringer Toner, Dale
Technical Associate
dgoehringer@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 116
508-910-6365
Coastal Systems
Goodman, Louis Goodman, Louis
Professor Emeritus
lgoodman@umassd.edu
508-999-8931 Marine Turbulence
 Costa, Cynthia Green, Andrew
Adjunct Professor
andrew.d.greene@navy.mil
Naval Undersea Warfare Center
508-910-6375
Marine Turbulence
 Costa, Cynthia Hansell, Alex
Graduate Student
 SMAST II, Rm 158  Fisheries Biology and Assessment
Costa, Cynthia Harnois, John
Graduate Student

SMAST, Rm 103

508-910-6306

-
Jonathan Hare Hare, Jonathan
Adjunct Professor
jon.hare@noaa.gov
NOAA
401-782-3295
Fisheries Oceanography
Bradley Harris Harris, Bradley
Adjunct Professor
bharris@alaskapacific.edu
Alaska Pacific University
907-564-8802
Marine Fisheries Field Research 
 Costa, Cynthia Hart, Amanda
Graduate Student
 SMAST II, Rm 158 The Fay Lab
Haugen, Janne
Graduate Student
jhaugen@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 200
508-207-2450
Fisheries Biology and Assessment
He, Pingguo He, Pingguo
Professor
phe@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 112
508-910-6323
Fish Behavior
 Costa, Cynthia Heupel, Eric
Research Associate
eheupel@umassd.edu
 508-910-6394 Marine Fisheries Field Research
Lauren Horton Horton, Lauren
Graduate Student
lhorton1@umassd.edu
SMAST II, 010A Marine Fisheries Field Research
Howes, Brian L. Howes, Brian
Professor
bhowes@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 116A
508-326-0912
Coastal Systems
Inglis, Susan Inglis, Susan
Research Associate 
singlis@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 300
508-910-6359
Marine Fisheries Field Research
Jacobson, Larry Jacobson, Larry
Adjunct Professor
larry.jacobson@noaa.gov
NOAA
508-495-2317
Fisheries Oceanography
Rubao Ji Ji, Rubao
Adjunct Professor
rji@whoi.edu
WHOI
508-289-2986
Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling
Keiley, Emily Keiley, Emily
Research Associate
ekeiley@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 300
508-910-6357
Marine Finfish Dynamics
Kennedy, W. Forrest Kennedy, W. Forrest
Aquaculture Technician
wkennedy1@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Seawater Room
508-910-6339
cell: 603-785-7754
Administration
Kretsch, Alexa
Graduate Student
akretsch@umassd.edu
SMAST II, 010A Fisheries Oceanography
 Jacob Kritzer Kritzer, Jake
Adjunct Professor
jkritzer@edf.org
Environmental Defense Fund
617-869-1336
Marine Fisheries Field Research
Micheline LaBrie Labrie, Micheline S.
Graduate Student
mlabrie@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 110
508-910-6321
Coastal Systems
 Costa, Cynthia

Lego, Craig
Graduate Student

 SMAST II, Rm 158 Marine Fisheries Field Research
Lin, Huichan Lin, Huichan
Research Associate
hlin@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 210A
508-910-6355
Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling
Siqi Li  Li, Siqi
Graduate Student
sli4@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 210
508-542-9874
Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling
Link, Jason Link, Jason
Adjunct Professor
Jason.Link@noaa.gov
NOAA/NMFS, Northeast Fisheries Science Center
508-495-2340
Fisheries Oceanography
Liu, Chang Liu, Chang
Graduate Student
cliu3@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 218 Computational Methods Laboratory
Lohrenz, Steven Lohrenz, Steven
Dean
slohrenz@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 106
508-910-6550
Administration
Travis Lowery Lowery, Travis
Technician Associate
tlowery@umassd.edu
SMAST II, 010A Marine Fisheries Field Research
Lucey, Sean Lucey, Sean
Graduate Student
sean.lucey@noaa.gov
NE Fisheries Science Center
508-495-2011
Fisheries Biology and Assessment
Lyonnais, Gail Lyonnais, Gail
Adminstrative Assistant
glyonnais@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 325
508-910-6353
Administration
Lyonnais, Eric Lyonnais, Eric
Facilities Manager
elyonnais@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 113
508-910-6304
cell: 508-415-1521
Administration
Costa, Cynthia Lyssikatos, Marjorie
Graduate Student
mlyssikatos@umassd.edu
SMAST II, 010A Biology
MacDonald, Daniel G. MacDonald, Daniel
Professor (SMAST Affiliate Faculty)
dmacdonald@umassd.edu
Violette Research 107 A
508-910-6334
Coastal Engineering & Fluid Mechanics
Paul Mancuso Mancuso, Paul
Graduate Student
pmancuso@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 116
508-910-6325
Coastal Systems
John Mandelman Mandelman, John
Adjunct Professor
jmandelman@neaq.org
New England Aquarium
617-226-2168
Fish Behavior
 Mike Marino Marino, Michael
Assistant Dean for Operations
mmarino@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 106/II, Rm 325D
508-999-8925/ 508-910-6303
cell: 781-504-6039
Administration
  Massidda, Caterina
PhD Student
cmassidda@umassd.edu

SMAST I, Room 110

508-910-6321

Marine Sciences
Dennis McGillicuddy McGillicuddy, Dennis
Adjunct Professor
dmcgillicuddy@whoi.edu
WHOI
508-289-2683
Biological Oceanography - Plankton Ecology
Timothy Miller Miller, Timothy
Adjunct Professor
timothy.j.miller@noaa.gov
WHOI
508-495-2365
Marine Finfish Dynamics
photo of Mahmud-Ul-Hasan Monim  Monim, Mahmud-Ul-Hasan
Graduate Student
mhasan.name@gmail.com
SMAST II, 010A
401-932-1125
Oceanographic Modeling and Analysis
  Morse, Molly
Graduate Student
mmorse1@umassd.edu
SMAST II Fisheries Biology and Assessment
Nichols, Owen Nichols, Owen
Graduate Student
onichols@umassd.edu  
SMAST II, 010A
508-910-6394
Fisheries Biology and Assessment
Petitpas, Christian (Jadlowic) Petitpas, Christian (Jadlowic)
Research Associate
cjadlowic@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 212
508-910-6385
Biological Oceanography - Plankton Ecology
David Pierce Pierce, David
Adjunct Professor
david.pierce@state.ma.us
MA Div. Mar. Fisheries
617-626-1532
Fisheries Oceanography
Pilskaln, Cindy Pilskaln, Cynthia
Professor
cpilskaln@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 218A
508-910-6327
Biogeochemical Particle Flux and Sedimentation
portrait of Mike Pol Pol, Mike
Graduate Student
mpol@umassd.edu
Mass DMF, Quest Center
508-990-2860 ext. 116
Fish Behavior
‌‌ Politis, Phil      
Graduate Student
ppolitis@umassd.edu
NOAA/NEFSC
508-495-2171
Fish Behavior
 Costa, Cynthia  Potti, Pooja

 SMAST I, Rm 10

508-910-6321

Coastal Systems
Costa, Cynthia Prajapati, Sheel
Graduate Student
sheelprajapati1@gmail.com
SMAST I, Rm 206
774-251-8690
Biogeochemistry
Qi, Jianhua Qi, Jianhua
Research Associate Professor
jqi@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 210
508-910-6355
Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling
Paul Rago Rago, Paul
Adjunct Professor
Paul.Rago@noaa.gov
NOAA
508-495-2317
Fisheries Oceanography
Rillahan, Chris Rillahan, Chris
Technical Associate/Graduate Student
crillahan@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 112
508-910-6310
Fish Behavior
Rosellondruker, Judith Rosellon-Druker, Judith
Research Associate
jrosellondruker@umassd.edu
SMAST II, 010A
508-910-6317
Marine Fisheries Field Research
Rothschild, Brian J. Rothschild, Brian
Professor Emeritus
brothschild@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 220A
508-910-6382
Marine Finfish Dynamics
 Chase, Pete Saint Laurent, Lou
Adjunct Professor
lstlaurent@whoi.edu<
 WHOI Marine Turbulence
Samimy, Roland Samimy, Roland
Research Manager
rsamimy@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 114A
508-910-6314
Coastal Systems
 Sampieri, Sara Sampieri Horvet, Sara
Research Technician
ssampieri@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 119
508-910-6325
Coastal Systems
Liberty Schilpp  Schilpp, Liberty
Graduate Student
lschilpp@umassd.edu
SMAST II. 010A The Fay Lab
Nick Schizas Schizas, Nikolaos
Adjunct Professor
nschizas@gmail.com
Univ. Puerto Rico, Mayagüez
1-787-899-2048 ext. 236
Fisheries Oceanography
Schlezinger, David Schlezinger, David
Research Associate
dschlezinger@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 114A
508-910-6314
Coastal Systems
Schmidt, Andre Schmidt, Andre
Scientific Systems Manager
aschmidt@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 325
508-910-6381
Administration
 ‌Ken Sherman Sherman, Kenneth
Adjunct Professor
kenneth.sherman@noaa.gov
NOAA
401-782-3211
Fisheries Oceanography
portrait of Katy Shoemaker Shoemaker, Katyanne
Graduate Student
kshoemaker@umassd.edu
SENG 333
405-395-8077
Biology
Sue Silva portrait (50px wide) Silva, Susan
Clerk IV
s1silva@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 106
508-910-6370
Administration
portrait of tammy silva Silva, Tammy
Graduate Student
tsilva4@umassd.edu
  Biology
Greg Skomal Skomal, Gregory B.
Adjunct Professor
gregory.skomal@state.ma.us
MA Division of Marine Fisheries
508-910-6305
Fisheries Oceanography
 SMAST Fairhaven, DFO SMAST Fairhaven, DFO  508-910-6351 Administration
 SMAST Fairhaven, DEOS SMAST Fairhaven, DEOS  508-910-6370 Administration
Stokesbury, Kevin  

Stokesbury, Kevin  
Professor

kstokesbury@umassd.edu

SMAST II, Rm 325 
508-910-6373
Marine Fisheries Field Research
Sundermeyer, Miles A. Sundermeyer, Miles
Professor
msundermeyer@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 110A
508-999-8892
Ocean Mixing and Stirring
Tandon, Amit ‌Tandon, Amit
Professor
atandon@umassd.edu
Group II, Rm 208A
508-999-8357
Upper Ocean Dynamics
 Taylor, Craig Taylor, Craig
Adjunct Professor
ctaylor@whoi.edu
WHOI
508-289-2354
Estuarine and Ocean Sciences
 Costa, Cynthia Teleconferencing Line, SMAST I SMAST I, Rm 108
508-999-9134
 
 Costa, Cynthia Teleconferencing Line, SMAST II SMAST II, Rm 325
508-999-9154
 
head shot of Stephanie Thompson Thompson, Stephanie
Graduate Student
Navygal06@aol.com
U.S. Navy Fisheries Oceanography
Dave Townsend ‌ Townsend, David
Adjunct Professor
davidt@maine.edu
Univ. of Maine - Orono
207-581-4367
Fisheries Oceanography
 
Kate Tremblay
Graduate Student
ktremblay1@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 214
508-910-6356
Ocean Observation Lab
Turner, Jefferson T. Turner, Jefferson
Chancellor Professor
jturner@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 212A
508-910-6332
Biological Oceanography - Plankton Ecology
Amber Unruh Unruh, Amber
Graduate Student/ Technician
aunruh@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 119
508-910-6325
Coastal Systems
John Walden portrait Walden, John
Visiting Scholar
john.walden@NOAA.gov
SMAST II, 010A
508-910-6365
Fisheries Oceanography
Desuai Wang Wang, Deshuai
Graduate Student
dwang@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 206 Marine 
Ecosystem Dynamics 
Modeling
 Costa, Cynthia  Wang, Lu SMAST I, Rm 206 Marine 
Ecosystem Dynamics 
Modeling
 Thompson, Stephanie Warn-Varnas, Alex
Adjunct Professor
kazysvarnas@gmail.com
Naval Research Laboratory Oceanographic Modeling and Analysis
Weston, Ashley
Graduate Student
aweston@umassd.edu
SMAST II, 010A The Fay Lab
Robert Wildermuth Wildermuth, Robert
Graduate Student
rwildermuth@umassd.edu
SMAST II, 010A
508-910-6890
The Fay Lab
Wilkinson, Arlene Wilkinson, Arlene
Administrative Assistant
awilkinson@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 325
508-999-8413
Administration
 Thompson, Stephanie Winger, Paul
Adjunct Professor
Paul.Winger@mi.mun.ca
  Fisheries Oceanography
Winiarz, Elizabeth
Library Liaison
ewiniarz@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 103
508-999-8696
Administration
Megan Winton with fish  Winton, Megan
Graduate Student
mwinton@umassd.edu
SMAST II, 010A
508-910-6890
The Fay Lab
portrait of Brooke Wright Wright, Brooke
Research Technician
brooke.wright@umassd.edu
SMAST II, Rm 300
508-910-6372
Fisheries Biology and Assessment
Zhong-Xiang Wu Wu, Zhong-Xiang
Adjunct Faculty
zwu@exponent.com
zhong@alum.mit.edu
Exponent, Inc. Natick, MA
508-652-8515
Marine 
Ecosystem Dynamics 
Modeling
 SMAST logo blue Xu, Qichun
Research Associate
qxu@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 218
508-910-6335
Marine
Ecosystem Dynamics
Modeling
Zemeckis, Doug

Zemeckis, Doug
Technical Associate

dzemeckis@umassd.edu

SMAST II, Rm 300
508-910-6336
Fisheries Biology and Assessment
portrait of Yu Zhang Zhang, Yu
Graduate Student
yzhang3@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 206
774-634-6351
Marine
Ecosystem Dynamics
Modeling
Zhao, Liuzhi Zhao, Liuzhi
Research Associate
lzhao@umassd.edu
SMAST I, Rm 218
508-910-6335
Marine
Ecosystem Dynamics
Modeling
SMAST DEAN'S OFFICE
Dean Steve Lohrenz
Dean's Office 508.910.6550
Assistant to the Dean Cindy Costa
ccosta3@umassd.edu
508.910.6550
Assistant Dean for Operations Mike Marino 
mmarino@umassd.edu
508.999.8925
508.910.6303
Assistant to Assistant Dean
Gail Lyonnais 
glyonnais@umassd.edu
508.910.6353
Administrative Assistant Arlene Wilkinson
awilkinson@umassd.edu
508.999.8413
Computer System Manager Mike Deignan 
mdeignan@umassd.edu
508.910.6302
Scientific Systems Manager Andre Schmidt 
aschmidt@umassd.edu
508.910.6381
Facilities Manager Eric Lyonnais 
elyonnais@umassd.edu
508.910.6304
Aquaculture Technician
W. Forrest Kennedy
wkennedy1@umassd.edu
508.910.6339
DEPARTMENTS
Department of Estuarine and Ocean Sciences Chair Mark Altabet
maltabet@umassd.edu
508.999.8622
DEOS Secretary Susan Silva 
s1silva@umassd.edu
508.910.6370
Department of Fisheries Oceanography Chair Steven Cadrin
scadrin@umassd.edu
508.910.6358
DFO Secretary Christine Fox
cfox@umassd.edu
508.910.6351
RESEARCH FACULTY
Annie Bourbonnais
Research Assistant Professor

annieb@uvic.ca

SMAST I, Rm 206

Biogeochemistry

Jianhua Qi
Research Associate Professor

jqi@umassd.edu   

SMAST I, Rm 210
508-910-6355     

David Bethoney

Research Assistant Professor

SMAST II, Rm 325 
508-910-6386

QuickLinks

x

+