SMAST faculty, staff and students recognized for excellence

Brian Howes The University Service Award presented to Prof. Brian Howes recognizes "a professor who has worked for decades to preserve the Massachusetts coastline."

Howes' Coastal Systems Program provides basic and applied scientific information to address the growing ecological degradation of coastal ecosystems, with an emphasis on public outreach and education. For the past decade, the centerpiece of their work has been the Massachusetts Estuaries Project, a massive state/local/university undertaking to analyze and identify remediation measures to preserve 89 Massachusetts estuaries, from Duxbury to the Rhode Island border.

SMAST faculty members, staff and students continue to be recognized for their scientific contributions by regional, national, and international organizations.


SMAST Faculty/Staff Awards

  • American Association for the Advancement of Science invited speaker, 2015 annual meeting
  • Award in Environmental Chemistry, Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation
  • Award of Excellence, American Fisheries Society
  • CAREER Award, National Science Foundation
  • Civilian Meritorious Award, Office of Naval Research
  • David B. Stone Award, New England Aquarium
  • David H. Wallace Award, National Shellfisheries Association
  • Distinguished Researcher, College of Arts & Sciences, University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth
  • Dr. David L. Belding Award for Marine Resource Conservation, Massachusetts Marine Fisheries Advisory Commission
  • Environmental Achievement Award, National Awards Council for Environmental Sustainability
  • Excellence in Science Award, Naval Undersea Warfare Center Newport
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • Fellowships in Climate System Modeling, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
  • Fellowship in Ocean Modeling, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
  • “Friend of the Fishing Industry” Award - Offshore Mariners Wives Association
  • Fulbright Scholarships
  • Guggenheim Fellowship
  • Hershman Excellence in Mentoring Award, Joint Ocean Commission
  • Highliner Lifetime Achievement Award, National Fisherman magazine
  • Honorary Professor, Institute of Oceanology, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Honorary Research Associate, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA
  • ICES Service Awards, International Council for the Exploration of the Sea
  • Innovative Use of New Technology Award, the Oceanography Society
  • John Patrick Crowley Memorial Teacher Grant, Massachusetts Marine Educators
  • Leo M. Sullivan Teacher of the Year Award
  • "Person of the Year" award, Prince Henry Society of Massachusetts
  • Massachusetts Marine Educators Association Award of Distinction
  • NOAA Sustainability Fisheries Leadership Award
  • Oscar Elton Sette Award, American Fisheries Society, Marine Fisheries Section
  • Outstanding Achievement Award, American Institute of Fishery Research Biologists
  • Outstanding Organization Award, American Fisheries Society, Southern New England Section
  • Outstanding Scientific Paper Award, Oceanic and Atmospheric Research
  • President’s Award for Public Service, University of Massachusetts
  • Samuel P. Stone Alumni Award in Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
  • Scholar of the Year Awards, University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth
  • University Service Awards, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
  • Van Valkenburg Award, Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers
  • Woman of the Year and Maritime Woman Explorer Award, State of California
  • Young Alumni Award, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
  • Young Investigator Award, National Academy of Sciences
  • Young Investigator Award, Office of Naval Research

SMAST Student Awards:

  • Fulbright Fellowships
  • Knauss Marine Policy Fellowships
  • National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship
  • NOAA Sea Grant Fellowship in Population Dynamics
  • Nancy Sayles Day Foundation Research Award 

and Best Paper/Presentation and Research Assistance awards from:

  • American Fisheries Society
  • American Institute of Fishery Research Biologists
  • American Meteorological Society
  • International Council for the Exploration of the Sea
  • International Pectinid Workshop
  • National Shellfisheries Association