SMAST Directory

 

 

Name  Location  Phone  Email  Lab/ Program  
Adams, Erin
Technical Associate/Graduate Student
SMAST II, Rm 300 508-910-6372 erin.adams@umassd.edu Fisheries Oceanography Adams, Erin
Altabet, Mark
Professor/Chair, DEOS
SMAST I, Rm 122A 508-999-8622 maltabet@umassd.edu Biogeochemistry Altabet, Mark A.
Armstrong, Michael
Adjunct Professor
Massachusetts Division of Marine Fisheries 978-282-0308 x109 michael.armstrong @state.ma.us Fisheries Oceanography  FAX, Administration
Bank, Crista
Research Technician
SMAST II, Rm 325 508-910-6380 cbank@umassd.edu Fisheries Biology and Assessment Bank, Crista
Barrett, Diana Graduate Student Violette 205   dbarrett@umassd.edu Biology SMAST logo blue
Bartlett, Michael
Research Technician
SMAST I, Rm 119 508-910-6325 mbartlett@umassd.edu Coastal Systems Bartlett, Michael
Bayse, Shannon
Research Assistant
SMAST I, Rm 112 508-910-6310 sbayse@umassd.edu Fish Behavior Bayse, Shannon
Beardsley, Robert
Adjunct Professor
WHOI 508-289-2536 rbeardsley@whoi.edu Fisheries Oceanography Beardsley, Robert
Benson, Jennifer
Research Technician
SMAST I, Rm 119 508-910-6325 Jennifer.benson@umassd.edu Coastal Systems Benson, Jennifer
Bethoney, David Naiff
Fisheries Research Technician
SMAST II, Rm 325 508-910-6386 nbethoney@umassd.edu Fisheries Oceanography Bethoney, David Naiff
Bisagni, James
Professor
SMAST II, Rm 325 508-910-6328 jbisagni@umassd.edu Oceanographic Remote Sensing Bisagni, James
Bochenek, Eleanor
Adjunct Professor
Rutgers University 609-898-0928 ext 1 bochenek@hsrl.rutgers.edu Fisheries Oceanography Eleanor Bochenek
Boucher, Jason
Visiting Scholar
SMAST I, Rm 218 508-910-6383 jboucher1@umassd.edu Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling Boucher, Jason
Bourbonnais, Annie Post-Doctoral Researcher SMAST I, Rm 206   annieb@uvic.ca Biogeochemistry portrait, small
Brown, Wendell S.  
Professor
SMAST I, Rm 214A 508-910-6395 wbrown@umassd.edu Ocean Observation Brown, Wendell
Brown, Dana
Graduate Student
SMAST I, Rm 216 508-910-6337 u_dbrown@umassd.edu Marine Turbulence Brown, Dana
Bucklin, Ann Cone
Adjunct Professor
University of Connecticut 860-405-9208 ann.bucklin@uconn.edu Biological Oceanography - Plankton Ecology Ann Bucklin
Burns, Karolyn M. Graduate Student SMAST II, Rm 200 978-382-2808 kburns@umassd.edu

 

Marine Fisheries Field Research Karolyn Burns
Cadrin, Steven  
Associate Professor
SMAST II, Rm 325 508-910-6358 scadrin@umassd.edu Fisheries Biology and Assessment Cadrin, Steve
Cassidy, Kyle
Graduate Student
SMAST II, Rm 200 508-910-6367 kcassidy@umassd.edu Marine Fisheries Field Research Cassidy, Kyle
Chakraborty, Sumit Post-Doctoral Researcher SMAST I, Rm 206 508-910-6389 schakraborty@umassd.edu Marine Ecosystem Science 50-px-wide portrait of Sumit Chakraborty
Chen, Changsheng Professor SMAST I, Rm 210 508-910-6388 c1chen@umassd.edu Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling Chen, Changsheng
Chen, Shuo            Graduate Student SMAST I, Rm 206 508-542-9455 schen2@umassd.edu Biogeochemistry Shuo Chen
Churchill, James
Adjunct Professor
 WHOI 508-289-2807 jchurchill@whoi.edu Computational Methods Laboratory Jim Churchill
Conference Room SMAST II, Rm 325 508-999-9193      Costa, Cynthia
Costa, Cynthia
Assistant to the Dean
SMAST I, Rm 106 910-6550 ccosta3@umassd.edu Administration 50px-wide portrait of Cindy Costa
Cotter, Mark P.
Graduate Student
SMAST II, Rm 200 508-944-4664 mcotter@umassd.edu Biology Cotter, Mark P.
Cowles, Geoffrey
Assistant Professor
SMAST I, Rm 218 508-910-6397 gcowles@umassd.edu Computational Methods Laboratory Cowles, Geoffrey
Curtis, Tobey
Graduate Student
SMAST II, Rm 200   tcurtis@umassd.edu Fisheries Biology and Assessment Curtis, Tobey
DeCelles, Greg
Research Technician
SMAST II, Rm 200 508-910-6393 gdecelles@umassd.edu Fisheries Biology and Assessment DeCelles, Greg
Deignan, Michael P.
Computer System Manager
SMAST 1, Rm 201/202 508-910-6302 mdeignan@umassd.edu Administration Deignan, Michael P.
Diodati, Paul
Scientific Fellow
MA Div. Mar. Fisheries 617-626-1530 paul.diodati@state.ma.us Fisheries Oceanography Diodati, Paul
Eddy, Corey
Graduate Student
Violette, Rm 115   corey.eddy@umassd.edu Biology Eddy, Corey
Eldridge, Sherri Ann
Graduate Student
    seldridge@umassd.edu Biology Eldridge, Sherri Ann
Endres, Corinne
Graduate Student
SMAST I, Rm 112 508-910-6310  cendres@umassd.edu Fish Behavior Portrait of Corinne Endres
Farrington, John W.
Adjunct Professor
WHOI, emeritus   jfarrington@umassd.edu Biogeochemistry Farrington, John W.
Favero, Jana     Graduate Student SMAST I, 212A   janamdf@usp.br Biological Oceanography - Plankton Ecology Jana del Favero
FAX, Administration SMAST I, Rm 106 508-999-8197   -  FAX, Administration
FAX, SMAST I SMAST I, Rm 206 508-910-6371   -  FAX, SMAST I
FAX, SMAST II SMAST II, Rm 325 508-910-6374   -  FAX, SMAST II

Fay, Gavin       Assistant Professor

SMAST II, Rm 325B 508-910-6363 gfay@umassd.edu Fisheries Oceanography Assoc. Prof. Gavin Fay 
Fogarty, Mike
Adjunct Professor
NOAA/NMFS, Northeast Fisheries Science Center 508-495-2386 Michael.Fogarty@noaa.gov Fisheries Oceanography Michael Fogarty
Ford, Kathryn         Adjunct Professor MA Div. Marine Fisheries 774-279-3695 kathryn.ford@umassd.edu Biogeochemical Particle Flux and Sedimentation Kathryn Ford Adjunct Faculty
Fox, Christine
Clerk IV - DFO
SMAST II, Rm 325 508-910-6351 cfox@umassd.edu Fisheries Oceanography Fox, Christine
Gangopadhyay, Avijit
Professor
SMAST II, Rm 325 508-910-6330 agangopadhya@umassd.edu Oceanographic Modeling and Analysis Gangopadhyay, Avijit
Georgianna, Daniel 
Chancellor Professor
SMAST II, Rm 325 508-910-6378 dgeorgianna@umassd.edu Economics Georgianna, Daniel
Goehringer Toner, Dale
Technical Associate
SMAST I, Rm 116 508-910-6365 dgoehringer@umassd.edu Coastal Systems Goehringer Toner, Dale
Goodman, Louis  
Professor
SMAST I, Rm 216A 508-910-6375 lgoodman@umassd.edu Marine Turbulence Goodman, Louis
Green, Andrew
Adjunct Professor
Naval Undersea Warfare Center 508-910-6375 andrew.d.greene@navy.mil Marine Turbulence  Costa, Cynthia
Green, Brandon
Graduate Student
SMAST II   bgreen1@umassd.edu Coastal Engineering & Fluid Mechanics portrait of Brandon Green
Grossi, Matt     Research Associate SMAST I, Rm 214 508-910-6377 matt.grossi@umassd.edu Ocean Observation Matt Grossi
Hakim, Aradea
Graduate Student
SMAST I, Rm 218   ahakim@umassd.edu Computational Methods Laboratory Hakim, Aradea
Hare, Jonathan
Adjunct Professor
NOAA 401-782-3295 jon.hare@noaa.gov Fisheries Oceanography Jonathan Hare
Harris, Bradley
Adjunct Professor
Alaska Pacific University 907-564-8802 bharris@alaskapacific.edu Marine Fisheries Field Research  Bradley Harris
He, Pingguo  
Associate Professor
SMAST I, Rm 112 508-910-6323 phe@umassd.edu Fish Behavior He, Pingguo
Horton, Lauren Research Technician SMAST II, Rm 200   lhorton@rollins.edu Marine Fisheries Field Research Lauren Horton
Howes, Brian
Professor
SMAST I, Rm 116A 508-326-0912 bhowes@umassd.edu Coastal Systems Howes, Brian L.
Hu, Haibei
Graduate Student
SMAST I, Rm 129 508-910-6320 hhu@umassd.edu Biogeochemistry portrait of Haibei Hu
Hyun, Saang-Yoon
Assistant Professor
SMAST II, Rm 300 508-999-8875 shyun@umassd.edu Quantitative Fisheries Management Hyun, Saang-Yoon
Inglis, Susan
Research Associate - Project Lead
SMAST II, Rm 300 508-910-6359 singlis@umassd.edu Marine Fisheries Field Research Inglis, Susan
Jacobson, Larry
Adjunct Professor
NOAA 508-495-2317 larry.jacobson@noaa.gov Fisheries Oceanography Jacobson, Larry
Jaffarian, Thomas
Computer Technician
SMAST II, Rm 325 508-910-6341 u_tjaffarian@umassd.edu Fisheries Oceanography  Jaffarian, Thomas
Ji, Rubao
Adjunct Professor
WHOI 508-289-2986 rji@whoi.edu Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling Rubao Ji
Jones, Natalie
Graduate Student
SMAST I, Rm 112 508-910-6310 njones2@umassd.edu Fish Behavior Jones, Natalie
Kakoulaki, Georgia
Graduate Student
SMAST II, Rm 325 508-910-6366 gkakoulaki@umassd.edu Coastal Engineering & Fluid Mechanics Kakoulaki, Georgia
Keiley, Emily
Graduate Student
SMAST I, Rm 220B 508-910-6357 ekeiley@umassd.edu Marine Finfish Dynamics Keiley, Emily
Kennedy, W. Forrest
Aquaculture Technician
SMAST I, Seawater Room

508-910-6339

cell: 603-785-7754

wkennedy1@umassd.edu Administration Kennedy, W. Forrest
Krelling, Ana Paula
Graduate Student
SMAST II, Rm 325 508-910-6381 akrelling@umassd.edu Oceanographic Modeling and Analysis portrait of Ana Paula Krelling
Kretsch, Alexa
Graduate Student
SMAST II, Rm 200   akretsch@umassd.edu Fisheries Oceanography
Kritzer, Jake
Adjunct Professor
Environmental Defense Fund 617-869-1336 jkritzer@edf.org Marine Fisheries Field Research Jacob Kritzer
Larkum, Jennifer
Research Associate
SMAST I, Rm 129 508-910-6320 jlarkum@umassd.edu Biogeochemistry Larkum, Jennifer
Levesque, Megan
Lab Technician
SMAST II, Rm 200   mlevesque1@umassd.edu Marine Fisheries Field Research
Lin, Huichan
Research Associate
SMAST I, Rm 210A 508-910-6355 hlin@umassd.edu Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling Lin, Huichan
Li, Siqi                 Graduate Student SMAST I, Rm 210 508-542-9874 sli4@umassd.edu Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling Siqi Li 
Link, Jason
Adjunct Professor
NOAA/NMFS, Northeast Fisheries Science Center 508-495-2340 Jason.Link@noaa.gov Fisheries Oceanography Link, Jason
Littrell, James   Graduate Student SMAST I, Rm 118   jlittrell@umassd.edu Biogeochemical Particle Flux and Sedimentation  SMAST logo blue
Liu, Chang
Graduate Student
SMAST I, Rm 218 617-299-0501 cliu3@umassd.edu Computational Methods Laboratory Liu, Chang
Lohrenz, Steven
Dean
SMAST I, Rm 106 508-910-6550 slohrenz@umassd.edu Administration Lohrenz, Steven
Lowery, Travis Graduate Student SMAST II, Rm 200   tlowery@umassd.edu Marine Fisheries Field Research Travis Lowery
Lucey, Sean
Graduate Student
NE Fisheries Science Center 508-495-2011 sean.lucey@noaa.gov Fisheries Biology and Assessment Lucey, Sean
Lyonnais, Gail
Adminstrative Assistant
SMAST I, Rm 106 508-910-6353 glyonnais@umassd.edu Administration Lyonnais, Gail
Lyonnais, Eric
Facilities Manager
SMAST I, Rm 113

508-910-6304

cell: 508-415-1521

elyonnais@umassd.edu Administration Lyonnais, Eric
MacDonald, Daniel  
Associate Professor
SMAST II, Rm 325 508-910-6334 dmacdonald@umassd.edu Coastal Engineering & Fluid Mechanics MacDonald, Daniel G.
Majumder, Sudip
Graduate Student
Physics, Rm 208A 508-971-0926 smajumder@umassd.edu Upper Ocean Dynamics Sudip Majumder ‌
Malloy, Ricky
Graduate Student
SMAST II, Rm 200   rmalloy@umassd.edu Marine Fisheries Field Research Ricky Malloy 

Mancuso, Paul   Graduate Student

SMAST I, Rm 116 508-910-6325

pmancuso@umassd.edu

Coastal Systems

Paul Mancuso
Mandelman, John
Adjunct Professor
New England Aquarium 617-226-2168 jmandelman@neaq.org Fish Behavior John Mandelman
Marino, Michael
Assistant Dean for Operations
SMAST I, Rm 106/II, Rm 325

508-999-8925/ 508-910-6303

cell: 781-504-6039

mmarino@umassd.edu Administration Marino, Michael
McGillicuddy, Dennis
Adjunct Professor
WHOI 508-289-2683 dmcgillicuddy@whoi.edu Biological Oceanography - Plankton Ecology Dennis McGillicuddy
Miller, Timothy
Adjunct Professor
WHOI 508-495-2365 timothy.j.miller@noaa.gov Marine Finfish Dynamics Timothy Miller
Milligan, Peter
Graduate Student
SMAST I, Rm 212 508-910-6340 u_pmilligan@umassd.edu Biological Oceanography - Plankton Ecology Milligan, Peter

Monim, Mahmud-Ul-Hasan                   Graduate Student

SMAST II, Rm 200 401-932-1125 mhasan.name@gmail.com Oceanographic Modeling and Analysis photo of Mahmud-Ul-Hasan Monim 
Mountain, David
Adjunct Professor
NOAA/NEFSC 508-495-2271 david.mountain@noaa.gov Estuarine and Ocean Sciences  Mountain, David
Mukherjee, Sonaljit
Graduate Student
SAE, Rm 208   sonaljit.m@gmail.com Upper Ocean Dynamics Mukherjee, Sonaljit
Nichols, Owen
Graduate Student
SMAST II, Rm 200 508-910-6394 onichols@umassd.edu Fisheries Biology and Assessment Nichols, Owen
O'Connell, Craig
Post-Doctoral Researcher
SMAST I, Rm 112 508-910-6310 coconnell2@umassd.edu Fish Behavior O'Connell, Craig
O'Keefe, Catherine
Research Technician
SMAST II, Rm 218 508-910-6340 cokeefe@umassd.edu Marine Fisheries Field Research O'Keefe, Catherine
Petitpas, Christian (Jadlowic)
Research Technician/Graduate Student
SMAST I, Rm 212 508-910-6385 cjadlowic@umassd.edu Biological Oceanography - Plankton Ecology Petitpas, Christian (Jadlowic)
Pierce, David
Adjunct Professor
MA Div. Mar. Fisheries 617-626-1532 david.pierce@state.ma.us Fisheries Oceanography David Pierce
Pilskaln, Cynthia
Professor
SMAST I, Rm 218A 508-910-6327 cpilskaln@umassd.edu Biogeochemical Particle Flux and Sedimentation
Pol, Mike       Graduate Student Mass DMF, Quest Center 508-990-2860 ext. 116 mpol@umassd.edu Fish Behavior portrait of Mike Pol
Politis, Phil        Graduate Student NOAA/NEFSC 508-495-2171 ppolitis@umassd.edu Fish Behavior
Prajapati, Sheel Graduate Student SENG 319 774-251-8690 sheelprajapati1@gmail.com Biology Sheel Prajapati portrait
Qi, Jianhua
Research Associate Professor
SMAST I, Rm 210 508-910-6355 jqi@umassd.edu Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling Qi, Jianhua
Rago, Paul
Adjunct Professor
NOAA 508-495-2317 Paul.Rago@noaa.gov Fisheries Oceanography Paul Rago
Reilly, James
Graduate Student
SMAST I, Rm 216 508-910-6322 james.reilly@umassd.edu Marine Turbulence Reilly, James
Rillahan, Chris
Research Technician
SMAST I, Rm 112 508-910-6310 crillahan@umassd.edu Fish Behavior Rillahan, Chris
Rodrigues, Isabela
Clerk IV - DEOS
SMAST I, Rm 106 508-910-6307 irodrigues1@umassd.edu Administration portrait of izzy rodrigues
Rosellondruker, Judith
Graduate Student
SMAST II, Rm 207 508-910-6317 jrosellondruker@umassd.edu Marine Fisheries Field Research Rosellondruker, Judith
Rothschild, Brian Professor Emeritus SMAST I, Rm 220A 508-910-6382 brothschild@umassd.edu Marine Finfish Dynamics Rothschild, Brian J.
Saint Laurent, Lou Adjunct Professor
 WHOI   lstlaurent@whoi.edu Marine Turbulence  Chase, Pete
Samimy, Roland
Research Manager
SMAST I, Rm 114A 508-910-6314 rsamimy@umassd.edu Coastal Systems Samimy, Roland
Sampieri Horvet, Sara
Research Technician
SMAST I, Rm 119 508-910-6325 ssampieri@umassd.edu Coastal Systems  Sampieri, Sara
Schilpp, Liberty Graduate Student SMAST II   lschilpp@umassd.edu Quantitative Fisheries Management Liberty Schilpp 
Schizas, Nikolaos Adjunct Professor Univ. Puerto Rico, Mayagüez 1-787-899-2048 ext. 236  nschizas@gmail.com Fisheries Oceanography Nick Schizas
Schlezinger, David
Research Associate
SMAST I, Rm 114A 508-910-6314 dschlezinger@umassd.edu Coastal Systems Schlezinger, David
Schmidt, Andre
Postdoctoral Associate
SMAST II, Rm 325 508-910-6381 aschmidt@umassd.edu Oceanographic Modeling and Analysis Schmidt, Andre
Sherman, Kenneth
Adjunct Professor
NOAA 401-782-3211 kenneth.sherman@noaa.gov Fisheries Oceanography  ‌Ken Sherman
Shoemaker, Katyanne   Graduate Student SENG 333 405-395-8077 kshoemaker@umassd.edu Biology portrait of Katy Shoemaker
Silva, Susan
Clerk IV
SMAST I, Rm 106 508-910-6370 s1silva@umassd.edu Administration Sue Silva portrait (50px wide)
Silva, Tammy Graduate Student     tsilva4@umassd.edu Biology portrait of tammy silva
Singh, Rekha
Technician
SMAST I, Rm 120 508-910-6320 rsingh@umassd.edu Biogeochemistry Singh, Rekha
Skomal, Gregory B.
Adjunct Professor
MA Div. Mar. Fisheries 508-910-6305 gregory.skomal@state.ma.us Fisheries Oceanography Greg Skomal
SMAST Fairhaven, DFO   508-910-6351   Administration  SMAST Fairhaven, DFO
SMAST Fairhaven, DEOS   508-910-6370   Administration  SMAST Fairhaven, DEOS
Smith, Frank 'Chico'
Communications Specialist
SMAST I, Rm 214/II, Rm 300 508-910-6347/ 6398 f1smith@umassd.edu Administration Smith, Frank 'Chico'
Stevens, Bradley, Adjunct Professor Univ. of Maryland, Eastern Shore   bgstevens@umassd.edu Fisheries Oceanography Brad Stevens
Stokesbury, Kevin  
Professor/Chair, DFO
SMAST II, Rm 325 508-910-6373 kstokesbury@umassd.edu Marine Fisheries Field Research Stokesbury, Kevin  
Sun, Yunfang
Graduate Student
SMAST I, Rm 210 508-910-6335 ysun4@umassd.edu Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling Sun, Yunfang
Sundermeyer, Miles
Associate Professor
SMAST I, Rm 110A 508-999-8892 msundermeyer@umassd.edu Ocean Mixing and Stirring Sundermeyer, Miles A.
Szymanski, Mark
Graduate Student
Quest Center

508-990-2860
ext 137

mszymanski@umassd.edu Fisheries Biology and Assessment Szymanski, Mark
Tandon, Amit
Professor
Group II, Rm 208A 508-999-8357 atandon@umassd.edu Upper Ocean Dynamics Tandon, Amit
Taylor, Craig
Adjunct Professor
WHOI 508-289-2354 ctaylor@whoi.edu Estuarine and Ocean Sciences  Taylor, Craig
Teleconferencing Line, SMAST I SMAST I, Rm 108 508-999-9134      Costa, Cynthia
Teleconferencing Line, SMAST II SMAST II, Rm 325 508-999-9154      Costa, Cynthia
Thompson, Stephanie
Graduate Student
U.S. Navy   Navygal06@aol.com; thompss@1hd Fisheries Oceanography head shot of Stephanie Thompson
Townsend, David Adjunct Professor Univ. of Maine - Orono 207-581-4367 davidt@maine.edu Fisheries Oceanography Dave Townsend ‌
Turner, Jefferson
Chancellor Professor
SMAST I, Rm 212A 508-910-6332 jturner@umassd.edu Biological Oceanography - Plankton Ecology Turner, Jefferson T.
Walden, John       Visiting Scholar SMAST II, Rm 200 508-910-6365 john.walden@NOAA.gov Fisheries Oceanography John Walden portrait
Wang, Deshuai Graduate Student SMAST I, Rm 206   dwang@umassd.edu Marine 
Ecosystem Dynamics 
Modeling
Desuai Wang
Ward, Elissa
Graduate Student
SMAST I, Rm 218A 508-910-6391 eward2@umassd.edu Biogeochemical Particle Flux and Sedimentation Ward, Elissa
Warn-Varnas, Alex
Adjunct Professor
Naval Research Laboratory   kazysvarnas@gmail.com Oceanographic Modeling and Analysis  Thompson, Stephanie
Wei, Tao                 Graduate Student SMAST I 352-226-0095 stevenlt4@hotmail.com Marine
Ecosystem Dynamics
Modeling
portrait of Tao Wei
White, David
Research Associate
SMAST I, Rm 116 508-910-6365 d1white@umassd.edu Coastal Systems  Costa, Cynthia
Wilkinson, Arlene
Administrative Assistant
SMAST I, Rm 220 508-999-8413 awilkinson@umassd.edu Administration Wilkinson, Arlene
Winiarz, Elizabeth
Librarian
SMAST I, Rm 206 508-999-8696 ewiniarz@umassd.edu Administration
Wright, Brooke
Graduate Student
SMAST II   brooke.wright@umassd.edu Fisheries Biology and Assessment portrait of Brooke Wright
Xu, Qichun
Research Associate
SMAST I, Rm 218 508-910-6335 qxu@umassd.edu Marine
Ecosystem Dynamics
Modeling
 SMAST logo blue
Zemeckis, Doug
Graduate Student
SMAST II, Rm 200 508-910-6336 dzemeckis@umassd.edu Fisheries Biology and Assessment Zemeckis, Doug
Zhang, Yu                 Graduate Student SMAST I, Rm 206 774-634-6351 yzhang3@umassd.edu Marine
Ecosystem Dynamics
Modeling
portrait of Yu Zhang
Zhao, Liuzhi
Research Associate
SMAST I, Rm 218 508-910-6383 lzhao@umassd.edu Marine
Ecosystem Dynamics
Modeling
Zhao, Liuzhi

QuickLinks

x

+