Phi Sigma Tau Philosophy Honors Society

Phi Sigma Tau is an international honors society in Philosophy founded in 1930. The goals of Phi Sigma Tau are:

  • to serve as a means of awarding distinction to students having high scholarship and personal interest in philosophy;
  • to promote student interest in research and advanced study in this field;
  • to provide opportunities for the publication of student research papers of merit;
  • to encourage a professional spirit and friendship among those who have displayed marked ability in this field; and
  • to popularize interest in philosophy among the general collegiate public.

The UMASS Dartmouth Massachusetts Kappa Chapter was installed on May 8, 2008.  Prof. Maureen Eckert is the faculty adviser. (Contact Prof. Eckert)  More information about Phi Sigma Tau can be found on the organization website.

Undergraduate Student Eligibility

Undergraduate students are eligible for active membership if they have completed three semesters or five quarters of the college course, rank in the upper thirty-five percent of their class, and have completed at least two semester courses or three quarter courses in philosophy with an average grade of over the second highest grade of the working scale.

Past Honored Phi Sigma Tau Inductees

Jesse Abbruzzese
Charlotte Black
Thomas Goldrick
Jessica Latta
Lance Peterson
Natalie Tessicini
Benjamin Vandervies  

Gabriel John Gray 
Olivia Violet Gauvin
Cody Edward Potvin 
Danielle Victoria Kelley 
Devin S. Kruljac
Jessica Lily Rice 
Molly McCarthy
Leah Isherwood
Julie Riding
Myles Santarpino
Brian Pinault
Rebecca Pac
Jordan Ochs
Ashley Nunez
Kayla Conchinha

Molly McCarthy, Philosophy Minor
Meaghan Bohigian, Philosophy Major
Devin Kruljac, Philosophy Major
Ellen Berna, Philosophy Minor
Askar Morisseua, Philosophy Minor
Connor Read, Philosophy Minor
Monica Goncalves, Philosophy Minor
Kara Sullivan, Philosophy Minor,
Adam Young, Philosophy Major
Ashley Peleckas, Philosophy Major 

Joshua Connolly, Philosophy Major
Nathan Pina, Philosophy Major
Robinson Douglas, Philosophy Minor 

Katie Rose
Alice Martin
Aaron Cardoso
Allison Lefebvre
Rose Horton

Scott A. Blackwood
Robert J. Correia
Katie M. Edgcomb
Bernard J. Kuszewski
Kevin B. Pacheco
Thomas W. Paine
Thomas G. Stanwood, Jr.
Bartholomew Walsh
Michael A. Yereniuk