Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Shannon Jenkins

Associate Professor
Ph.D. Loyola University Chicago
State and local politics, state legislatures, American politics

Department Secretary

Lisa Porto
Hours: 8:30am - 4pm, M-F
Phone: 508 999-8369
Fax: 508 999-8819

Department Address:
   Department of Political Science
   University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth
   N. Dartmouth, MA  02747-2300


Michael Baum
Ph.D. University of Connecticut
Comparative politics (Portugal, European Union), democratization,
economic development policy

Heidi Berggren
Associate Professor of Political Science and Women's and Gender Studies
Ph.D. University of Colorado
Social policy, women and politics, political behavior

Robert Darst
Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of California-Berkeley
International relations, environmental politics and policy

John Fobanjong
Professor of Political Science and African and African-American Studies
Ph.D. University of Arizona
Comparative politics (Africa), African-American politics, public administration

Kenneth L. Manning
Ph.D. University of Houston
American politics, judicial process and behavior, constitutional law

Kevin Pallister
Ph.D. University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Comparative politics, international relations, Latin American politics

Avery Plaw

Professor; Director of the University Honors Program
Ph.D. McGill University
Political theory, international relations, strategic studies

Doug Roscoe
Ph.D. Loyola University Chicago
American politics, Congress, interest groups, political parties, electoral process

Peter Sandby-Thomas
Ph.D. University of Nottingham
International relations, Chinese politics

Faculty office hours