Provost's Best Practices Awards 2008

Provost's Best Practices Awards for the Recognition of Excellence in Teaching and Learning with Technology

2008 Award Recipients

Each year, Computer and Information Technology Services Instructional Development announces the call for nominations for the Best Practices Awards for Innovative Teaching and Learning with Technology. Award recipients receive $500, their name is displayed on the Provost’s Best Practices Award plaque located inside the CITS’ FASTRAC Training Center, and they are acknowledged on the Instructional Development Best Practices web page.  Each award recipient also presents their best practice or innovative use of technology as part of a Teaching and Learning Technologies Brown Bag seminar series held each semester.

A $500 award is presented in each of the following categories:

Best Practices in a Blended Course or Fully Online Course
This best practice award will recognize an effective strategy, technique, or tool in a blended or fully online course that enhances student learning.

2008 Award Recipient Photo of Christina Mehrtens
Cristina Mehrtens, Assistant Professor, History







2008 Honorable Mention
Shannon Jenkins, Assistant Professor, Political Science

Best Practices in Assessment in a Blended or Fully Online Course
This best practice award will recognize an effective assessment strategy, technique, or tool in a blended or fully online course that improves student achievement of course learning outcomes.


Photo of Trina Kershaw 

2008 Award Recipient
Trina Kershaw, Assistant Professor, Psychology







Innovative Use of Technology
This award will recognize an innovative use of technology that enhances teaching and learning in the face-to-face classroom setting or in the online course environment. Some examples of innovative technology could include but are not limited to tablet pc (digital inking), personal response system (clickers), multimedia presentations, portfolios, learning objects, podcasts, blogs, wikis, and synchronous online conferencing. 

Photo of Christina Biron 

2008 Award Recipient
Christina Biron, Professor, Foreign Literature and Languages







2008 Honorable Mention
Kari Mofford, Assistant Librarian

Award Eligibility

All UMass Dartmouth full and part time faculty, librarian and staff are eligible to be nominated. Individuals are invited to self nominate or nominate a colleague who has demonstrated best practices/innovative use of technology. The nominee must have demonstrated the use of the innovative technology, strategy, or best practice during a period of time, usually within the last three seemsters.

Individuals may only be nominated in one category.  All nominations must be submitted using the online nomination form. Only nominations received through the online nomination form will be reviewed by the committee.

All nominations will be reviewed and judged by a committee composed of full time and part time faculty and staff who are actively engaged with technology in their teaching practices.

Nomination Procedures

Look for the 2009 call for nominations during the Fall 2009 semester. Congratulations to our 2008 awards recipients!

Questions should be directed to Instructional Development at 508.999.8501.