Provost's Best Practices Awards
for the Recognition of Excellence in Teaching and Learning with Technology

2009/2010 Award Recipients

Each year, Computer and Information Technology Services Instructional Development announces the call for nominations for the Best Practices Awards for Innovative Teaching and Learning with Technology. Award recipients receive $500, their name is displayed on the Provost’s Best Practices Award plaque located inside the CITS’ FASTRAC Training Center, and they are acknowledged on the Instructional Development Best Practices web page.  Each award recipient also presents their best practice or innovative use of technology as part of a Teaching and Learning Technologies Brown Bag seminar series held each semester.

A $500 award is presented in each of the following categories:

Best Practices in a Blended Course or Fully Online Course
This best practice award will recognize an effective strategy, technique, or tool in a blended or fully online course that enhances student learning.


2009/2010 Award Recipient
Mia Rowland, Lecturer, Philosophy

  ‌Image of Mia Rowland


Best Practices in Assessment in a Blended or Fully Online Course
This best practice award will recognize an effective assessment strategy, technique, or tool in a blended or fully online course that improves student achievement of course learning outcomes.

2009/2010 Award Recipients
(left to right)
Susan Hunter Revell &
Mary McCurry
Susan Hunter Revell Mary McCurry 


Innovative Use of Technology
This award will recognize an innovative use of technology that enhances teaching and learning in the face-to-face classroom setting or in the online course environment. Some examples of innovative technology could include but are not limited to tablet pc (digital inking), personal response system (clickers), multimedia presentations, portfolios, learning objects, podcasts, blogs, wikis, and synchronous online conferencing.

2009/2010 Award Recipients
Enhanced Clinical Team

Front (left to right)
MaryBeth Sosa, Teri Reynolds, & Nancy Dluhy

Back (left to right)
Elizabeth Chin & Barbara Weatherford
Nancy Dluhy and team 


Award Eligibility
All UMass Dartmouth full and part time faculty, librarian and staff are eligible to be nominated. Individuals are invited to self nominate or nominate a colleague who has demonstrated best practices/innovative use of technology. The nominee must have demonstrated the use of the innovative technology, strategy, or best practice during a period of time, usually within the last three seemsters.

Individuals may only be nominated in one category. All nominations must be submitted using the online nomination form. Only nominations received through the online nomination form will be reviewed by the committee.

All nominations will be reviewed and judged by a committee composed of full time and part time faculty and staff who are actively engaged with technology in their teaching practices.

Congratulations to our 2009/2010 awards recipients!

Questions should be directed to Instructional Development at 508-999-8501 or