Provost's Awards-2011

Provost's Best Practices Awards
for the Recognition of Excellence in Teaching and Learning with Technology

2011 Award Recipients

Each year, Computer and Information Technology Services Instructional Development announces the call for nominations for the Best Practices Awards for Innovative Teaching and Learning with Technology. Award recipients receive $1000, their name is displayed on the Provost’s Best Practices Award plaque located inside the CITS’ FASTRAC Training Center, and they are acknowledged on the Instructional Development Best Practices web page.  Each award recipient also presents their best practice or innovative use of technology as part of a Teaching and Learning Technologies Brown Bag seminar series held each semeste

Best Practices in a Blended Course or Fully Online Course
This best practice award will recognize an effective strategy, technique, or tool in a blended or fully online course that enhances student learning.

image of Anupama Arora  

2011 Award Recipient
Anupama Arora, Assistant Professor of English
Image of Karen Gulbrandsen
Honorable Mention
Karen Gulbrandsen, Assistant Professor of English
Image of Maureen Eckert Honorable Mention
Maureen Eckert, Associate Professor of Philosophy

Innovative Use of Technology
This award will recognize an innovative use of technology that enhances teaching and learning in the face-to-face classroom setting or in the online course environment. Some examples of innovative technology could include but are not limited to tablet pc (digital inking), personal response system (clickers), multimedia presentations, portfolios, learning objects, podcasts, blogs, wikis, and synchronous online conferencing.

Image of Michael Griffin  2011 Award Recipient

Michael Griffin, Director of Internships, CCB


Award Eligibility

All UMass Dartmouth full and part time faculty, librarian and staff are eligible to be nominated. Individuals are invited to self nominate or nominate a colleague who has demonstrated best practices/innovative use of technology. The nominee must have demonstrated the use of the innovative technology, strategy, or best practice during a period of time, usually within the last three seemsters.

Individuals may only be nominated in one category. All nominations must be submitted using the online nomination form. Only nominations received through the online nomination form will be reviewed by the committee.

All nominations will be reviewed and judged by a committee composed of full time and part time faculty and staff who are actively engaged with technology in their teaching practices.

Congratulations to our 2011 awards recipients!

Questions should be directed to Instructional Development at 508-999-8501 or