Provost's Awards-2012

Provost's Best Practices Awards
for the Recognition of Excellence in Teaching and Learning with Technology

2012 Award Recipients

Each year, Computer and Information Technology Services Instructional Development announces the call for nominations for the Best Practices Awards for Innovative Teaching and Learning with Technology. Award recipients receive $1000, their name is displayed on the Provost’s Best Practices Award plaque located inside the CITS’ FASTRAC Training Center, and they are acknowledged on the Instructional Development Best Practices web page.  Each award recipient also presents their best practice or innovative use of technology as part of a Teaching and Learning Technologies Brown Bag seminar series held each semeste

Best Practices in a Blended Course or Fully Online Course

This best practice award will recognize an effective strategy, technique, or tool in a blended or fully online course that enhances student learning.


2012 Award Recipient
Stephanie O’ Hara, Assistant Professor of Foreign Literature and Languages

Best Practices in Assessment in a Blended or Fully Online Course
This best practice award will recognize an effective assessment strategy, technique, or tool in a blended or fully online course that improves student achievement of course learning outcomes.

  2012 Award Recipient
Caitlin O’Neal Amaral, Full time Lecturer, English
  2012 Award Recipient
Judy Schaaf, Professor of English

Innovative Use of Technology
This award will recognize an innovative use of technology that enhances teaching and learning in the face-to-face classroom setting or in the online course environment. Some examples of innovative technology could include but are not limited to tablet pc (digital inking), personal response system (clickers), multimedia presentations, portfolios, learning objects, podcasts, blogs, wikis, and synchronous online conferencing.

  2012 Award Recipient
Anthony F. Arrigo, Assistant Professor of English
  Honorable Mention
Thomas Stubblefield, Full time Lecturer, Art History


Award Eligibility

All UMass Dartmouth full and part time faculty, librarian and staff are eligible to be nominated. Individuals are invited to self nominate or nominate a colleague who has demonstrated best practices/innovative use of technology. The nominee must have demonstrated the use of the innovative technology, strategy, or best practice during a period of time, usually within the last three seemsters.

Individuals may only be nominated in one category. All nominations must be submitted using the online nomination form. Only nominations received through the online nomination form will be reviewed by the committee.

All nominations will be reviewed and judged by a committee composed of full time and part time faculty and staff who are actively engaged with technology in their teaching practices.

Congratulations to our 2012 awards recipients!

Questions should be directed to Instructional Development at 508-999-8501 or