Provost's Best Practices Awards 
for the Recognition of Excellence in Teaching and Learning with Technology

2014 Award Recipients

Each year, Computer and Information Technology Services Instructional Development announces the call for nominations for the Best Practices Awards for Innovative Teaching and Learning with Technology. Award recipients receive $1000, their name is displayed on the Provost’s Best Practices Award plaque located inside the CITS’ FASTRAC Training Center, and they are acknowledged on the Instructional Development Best Practices web page.  Each award recipient also presents their best practice or innovative use of technology as part of a Teaching and Learning Technologies Brown Bag seminar series held each semeste

Best Practices in a Blended Course or Fully Online Course 

This best practice award will recognize an effective strategy, technique, or tool in a blended or fully online course that enhances student learning.


2014 Award Recipient
Sarah Cosgrove, Assistant Professor of Economics

Best Practices in Assessment in a Blended or Fully Online Course 
This best practice award will recognize an effective assessment strategy, technique, or tool in a blended or fully online course that improves student achievement of course learning outcomes.

image of Anupama Arora  2014 Award Recipient
Anupama Arora, Assistant Professor of English

Innovative Use of Technology 
This award will recognize an innovative use of technology that enhances teaching and learning in the face-to-face classroom setting or in the online course environment. Some examples of innovative technology could include but are not limited to tablet pc (digital inking), personal response system (clickers), multimedia presentations, portfolios, learning objects, podcasts, blogs, wikis, and synchronous online conferencing.

   2014 Award Recipient
John Buck, Professor of Engineering

Honorable Mention
Marva Foster,  Full Time Lecturer in Nursing
Kiley Medeiros, Full Time Lecturer in Nursing
Jennifer Dunbar Viveiros, Full Time Lecturer in Nursing


Award Eligibility

All UMass Dartmouth full and part time faculty, librarian and staff are eligible to be nominated. Individuals are invited to self nominate or nominate a colleague who has demonstrated best practices/innovative use of technology. The nominee must have demonstrated the use of the innovative technology, strategy, or best practice during a period of time, usually within the last three seemsters. 

Individuals may only be nominated in one category. All nominations must be submitted using the online nomination form. Only nominations received through the online nomination form will be reviewed by the committee. 

All nominations will be reviewed and judged by a committee composed of full time and part time faculty and staff who are actively engaged with technology in their teaching practices. 

Congratulations to our 2013 awards recipients! 

Questions should be directed to Instructional Development at 508-999-8501 or