Legal Holidays in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Following is a list of legal holidays and the dates on which they will be observed for calendar years 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Holiday

2018

2019

2020

New Year’s Day – January First

Jan. 1, Mon.

Jan. 1, Tues.

Jan. 1, Wed.

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Third Monday in January

Jan. 15, Mon.

Jan. 21, Mon.

Jan. 20, Mon.

Washington’s Birthday

Third Monday in February

Feb. 19, Mon.

Feb. 18, Mon.

Feb. 17, Mon.

Patriots’ Day

Third Monday in April

Apr. 16, Mon.

Apr. 15, Mon.

Apr. 20, Mon.

Memorial Day

Last Monday in May

May 28, Mon.

May 27, Mon.

May 25, Mon.

Independence Day - July 4th

July 4, Wed.

July 4, Thurs.

July 4, Sat. *

Labor Day

First Monday in September

Sept. 3, Mon.

Sept. 2, Mon.

Sept. 7, Mon.

Columbus Day

Second Monday in October

Oct. 8, Mon.

Oct. 14, Mon.

Oct. 12, Mon.

Veterans’ Day – November 11th

Nov. 11, Sun. **

Nov. 11, Mon.

Nov. 11, Wed.

Thanksgiving Day

Customarily the fourth Thursday in November

Nov. 22, Thurs.

Nov. 28, Thurs.

Nov. 26, Thurs.

Christmas Day – December 25th

Dec. 25, Tues.

Dec. 25, Wed.

Dec. 25, Fri.

*SATURDAY HOLIDAYS:

In the event a legal holiday falls on a Saturday, all offices under the jurisdiction of any department of state government shall be open to the public for business on the Friday immediately preceding any Saturday holiday.

Managers and confidential employees:  As many employees as possible should be given off the Friday immediately preceding the Saturday holiday.  Whenever possible, the following Monday shall be used as the alternative day off.  Employees assigned to work shall be given an additional day off. 

 

**SUNDAY HOLIDAYS:

In the event a legal holiday falls on a Sunday, the holiday will be observed on the following Monday.

 

Bargaining unit employees: please reference your collective bargaining agreement for more information specific to your union 

QuickLinks

x

+