UMass Dartmouth is one of five campuses of the University of Massachusetts system, which is governed by a 22-member Board of Trustees with headquarters in Boston, Massachusetts. Our campus, located in North Dartmouth, Massachusetts, is led by Chancellor Robert E. Johnson.

  • A world class education in a community that is inclusive, open, and diverse
  • More than 8,500 undergraduate and graduate students and 40,000 alumni
  • U.S.News and World Report rankings in several categories 
  • Plays a significant economic role in southeastern Massachusetts and beyond. 

Paul Rudolph, an architect of the Brutalist style, created UMass Dartmouth’s original master plan and design of most of the buildings on campus. Enjoy more information on the history of the UMass Dartmouth.

UMass Dartmouth's former names

  • Originally called Southeastern Massachusetts Technological Institute (SMTI) in 1960
  • Became Southeastern Massachusetts University (SMU) in 1969
  • Became the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth in 1991

Although many buildings and offices have been modified over the years to accommodate growth, you can still recognize much of Rudolph's influence.