Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting May 5, 2005

Present:	M. Anderson L Bianco L. Cheng D. Georgianna	B. Barnes D. Boerth P.Currier	M. Baum D. Borim Q. Fan P. Gibbs	D. Bergeron E. Carreiro E. Fisher K. Gramling
	J. Griffith	A. Gunasekeran		A.Hausknecht
	B. Jacobskind	F. Karakaya		Y. Kim
	G. Koot	R. Kowalczył	k S. Krumholz	K. Langley
	R. Laoulache	S. Leclair	J. Leffers	K. Manning
	J. Marlow	H. Michel	A. Mollo	N. O'Connor
	E. Ojadi	S. Peterson	D. Prentice	D. Rancour
	M. Roy	F. Scarano	S. Scott	B. Singh
	S. Sousa	J. Stauder	K. Stokesbury	L. Sun
	P. Szatek M. Zarrillo	E. Winiarz	H. Xu	

Excused:

Absent:

Guests:

Susan Leclair, Senate President opened the meeting at 3:40 pm.

1. Jim Griffith moves to accept Minutes of April. Sharon Souza seconds. Motion carries.

- 2. Senate Steering Committee Report
 - 2.1 Report of the election

18 slots; 18 nominated. Motion to direct secretary to cast one vote. Elaine Fischer moves, James Griffith seconds. Motion carries.

3. Election of Senate Officers

3.1 President:

Paige Gibbs nominates Susan Leclair; Elaine Fischer seconds. Motion to close nominations, J. Griffith moves; second E. Fischer. Nominations closed. Motion to instruct secretary to cast one vote for Susan Leclair. P. Gibbs moves, D. Georgianna seconds. Motion carries.

3.2 Steering Committee:

The following individuals are nominate by Council: Science- Eileen Carriero Business – Paul Bacdayan Library – Paige Gibbs Social Science - Susan Krumholz Engineering – Kenneth Langley VPA. Elaine Fischer Nursing – Sharon Sousa Humanities- Gerard Koot

Motion to Elect slate, James Griffith moves, Barbara Jacobskind seconds. Motion carries.

Motion to nominate Susan Krumholz as secretary. Dan Georgianna moves, Paige Gibbs seconds. Motion carries.

- 4. Committee Reports
 - 3.1 Yvonne Sandstroem Award

Mary Adams reports that there were four nominations. She reads into the record part of Ann Carey's presentation about Yvonne Sandstroem, then announces this year's award recipient. Jen Riley presents this year's Yvonne Sandstroem Award to Juli Parker.

3.2 Admission Committee

E. Carriero reports on behalf of Committee.

Undergraduates are accept via rolling admissions. Undergrad admissions standards {BHE standards (UMD: GPA \geq 3.0)} and college and programmatic requirements are considered.

Graduate admissions procedures are set by departments.

DCE has no "direct" admissions.

Recommendations:

--increase ex-officio committee membership to automatically include graduate and DCE director;

--increase admissions committee membership to include graduate faculty by design.

--Request that the Chancellor direct the Provost to include Admissions Committee, or other faculty representatives, in enrollment/admissions process.

R. Panofsky offers that he has a different idea for graduate programs.

James Griffith moves to accept committee recommendations. Barbara Jacobskind seconds.

Sharon Sousa- in nursing – can they include something in admissions about employer and people skills? Can this be included in recommendations?

J. Griffith accepts as friendly amendment. Motion carries.

B. Jacobskind moves that Senate charge Steering committee to have a conversation about Graduate admissions and bring this to the Senate. James Griffith seconds. We were informed that a graduate conversation exists, but has no relation to Senate.

Motion to call question. Motion carries.

3.3 General Education Committee

Update about pilot study. Faculty are developing assessment tools for evaluating D, G, and E. These will be used across classes.

3.4 Library Committee

K. Suchon reports on behalf of Committee. Committee produced a budget which they presented to the Senate.

Resolution—that the budget for the library increase by 8% per year. B. Jacoksind moves; G. koot seconds. Motion carries.

3.5 Student Financial Aid Committee

L. Bianco, reports on behalf of Committee. There is a new director of financial aid—Bruce Palmer – and the committee thinks he is doing a great job. Need for financial aid is increasing as the student enrollment increases, but there is no more money. Needs to be parity between admissions office salaries and financial aid.

4. New Business

A. Senate needs to appoint an individual as its representative to the Intercampus Faculty Council. James Griffith nominates Paige Gibbs. Gerard Koot seconds. Motion carries.

L. Bianco moves to adjourn; E. Fisher seconds. Meeting adjourns at 5:12 pm.