Faculty Senate Meeting 5/1/2008

Call to Order 4:40PM

Approval of minutes, Motion, Seconded, Motion carries.

Emeritus Status.

Michael proposes change to the status. Chancellor will be invited to the first meeting of the year and award Emeritus and give a "State of the Campus" address.

We recognize the Senator's attending their last meeting. Elaine Fischer CVPA for 14 years of service on the Senate and 12 years of service to the Faculty Senate Steering Committee.

Barbara Jacobskind, may be retiring this year. She has been a Senator since the early 1970's.

Senate Elections

We had 17 open seats and 17 nominees thus no election was necessary.

Nominations for President.

Michael Baum, nominated and seconded.

Motion to elect Michael Baum. Nominated and seconded, motion carries unanimously

Nominations for members of steering committee.

Science Council

Susan LeClair, Nominated and seconded.

Humanities council

Gerard Koot, Nominated and Seconded.

Social Science Council

Doug Roscoe, Declined nomination. Avery Plaw, nominated and seconded.

Engineering Council

Ken Langley, nominated and seconded.

CVPA

Arlene Mollo, nominated and seconded.

Library

Paige Gibbs, nominated and seconded

Nursing

Phyllis Currier, nominated and seconded

CCB

Catharine Curran, nominated and seconded.

Secretary of Faculty Senate

Catharine Curran, nominated and seconded

Provost Garro Update on Strategic plan

Review of current status of strategic planning initiatives. (PPT appended)

Key additions:

Requirement to write Graduate student support in grants, where allowable. Capping undergraduate enrollments at 1500 Setting enrollment goals for all graduate programs. Expand online offerings. Generate and additional \$3 Million from graduate programs to cover capped undergrad. Expand PhD offerings. Applying for Carnegie Classification based on Community Service and Engagement

New Student Orientation will move to 8/29.

Discussion:

Barabara Jacobskind: Announcements for positions need to be issued sooner than they currently are.

Provost Garro acknowledged the need to issue announcements sooner.

Gerard Koot: Online consultant was hired but a broader discussion needs to be had with faculty, etc.

Provost Garro: We will be following the UMass Online protocols. There will be some recommendations about ownership, etc.

Gerard Koot: We need to have an open and honest discussion about changes to online course delivery from PCE to the departments.

Provost Garro: We will be studying and addressing these issues.

Yvottone Sandsrom Award Committee Report

Sonja Peterson thanked the committee members for their work on this award. This award was created in 1996 in honor of her memory. She was at UMass for 25 years. Yvonne served on many committees, no matter what role she took on she functioned with modesty and dignity. This year's recipient is Dr. Giulio Massano. He embodies the fairness, the justice and the dedication to service that this award was created to recognize. For 34 years he has served the University he has brought an enthusiasm to language.

Task Group on Student Learning Assessment for General Education (TG-SLAGE)

Motion: Senate accept the report of the TG-SLAGE committee.

Motion seconded, motion carries unanimously.

Motion to Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 5:00PM