Skip to main content.
 

Graduate Students

Graduate Students AY 2019-20

Ana Parada - aparada@umassd.edu

Ana Parada is from Lisbon, Portugal. She holds a BA in Education from the Instituto Superior de Ciências Educativas in Odivelas, Portugal. She was a teacher of Maths and Science in Lisbon for 12 years before moving to the USA in 2012 with her family. She is currently pursuing an MA in Portuguese Studies at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth.

Fausta Boscacci - fboscacci@umassd.edu

Gina Reis - greis@umassd.edu

Grace Holleran - gholleran@umassd.edu

Grace Holleran translates literature from the Portuguese, with a focus on contemporary Brazilian poetry written by authors from marginalized groups. A graduate from Temple University with a B.S. in Music, and a classically trained trumpet player, she approaches translation through a musical lens. Her research interests include the musicality of poetry, translating sound, and identity/class politics in translation. She is currently an MA student in Portuguese Studies and a Teaching Fellow in the Department of Portuguese at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth. 

Jaqueline Ristau - jristau@umassd.edu

Jaqueline Ristau is from Southern Brazil and received her BA from Universidade Regional de Blumenau, SC. She is currently a PhD candidate (ABD) in the Luso-Afro-Brazilian Studies and Theory Program at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, working on her dissertation on "Dynamic Assessment of Young Portuguese Heritage Language Learners in a Bilingual Immersion Setting." Her global research interests are in second language acquisition and teaching, language policy, and bilingual education for immigrant students. She was a Fulbright Portuguese Teaching Assistant at Oberlin College in 2004 and is currently a Teaching Fellow in Portuguese at UMass Dartmouth.

Jason Borges - jborges7@umassd.edu

Jason Borges is a Massachusetts native, born and raised in a Luso-American family from Somerset, MA. He received his BA in Portuguese from the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth in 2014. He returned to the university as a PhD student in Luso-Afro-Brazilian Studies and Theory in Fall 2015 and is currently ABD, having defended his dissertation proposal, "'A gente fala bruto': Investigating the role of speakers’ perception and ethnic identity in Portuguese heritage language development and maintenance," in August 2019. Also, he is currently a Teaching Fellow in the Department of Portuguese. In his free time, he enjoys cooking, movies, travel, and learning new languages.

Maggie Felisberto - mfelisberto@umassd.edu

Maria Clotilde Branco - mbranco@umassd.edu

Maria Clotilde Branco is from the island of Faial city of Horta in the Azores, Portugal. She attended elementary and secondary schools in Horta. She graduated from New Bedford High School. She holds a BA in Portuguese, with minors in Spanish and English, and an MA in Bilingual Education from the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth. She was a teacher of Spanish and Portuguese at Falmouth High School for over 30 years. She returned to the university as a PhD student in Luso-Afro-Brazilian Studies and Theory in Fall 2017. She is currently a Teaching Fellow in the Department of Portuguese. In her free time, she enjoys traveling, hiking and walking the beach.

Yasmin Vasconcelos - yvasconcelos@umassd.edu

Yasmin Z. Vasconcelos holds a BA in Portuguese from Universidade Federal do Espírito Santo (UFES), Brazil. She is currently a PhD student in the Luso-Afro-Brazilian Studies and Theory program at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth. Her global research interests include Brazilian literature and gender & sexuality studies. She is in an everlasting process of learning to play Brazilian tambourine. She is also a Teaching Fellow in the Department of Portuguese. 

bg

UMass Dartmouth Virtual Tour

Visit us virtually: There’s nothing like being on campus. But, for now, take a virtual tour of UMass Dartmouth.
Go to virtual tour

+