Skip to main content.

Charter Boards

The By-Laws of the Gerontology Center include the establishment of a Community Advisory Board composed of individuals drawn from positions of leadership in the educational, non-profit, and private sectors. The purpose of the Community Advisory Board is to assist the Center in developing its program, research opportunities, and financial resources.

The following community members were on the Center's initial Community Advisory Board:

Community Advisory Board 2000-01

  • Debra Able, Marketing Director, Morton Hospital
  • Patricia Almeida, Community Member, Fall River
  • Kristin Andrews, Director, Duxbury Council On Aging
  • Kathy Audette, New Bedford Housing Authority
  • Bob Cammarata, Director, Taunton Council On Aging
  • Laura Campbell, Community Member, Wareham
  • Jerry Cardoza, Taunton State Hospital
  • Claire T. Carney, Community Member, Dartmouth
  • Lois Carr, Outreach Coordinator, Bourne Council On Aging
  • Diane Cunningham, Director, Wareham Council On Aging
  • Henry DeJesus, Community Member, Wareham
  • Anne Fayan, Community Member, Fall River
  • Sandra Fleet, Community Member, Wareham
  • Mary Ellen Gomes, Director, Westport Council On Aging
  • Dr. Kristine Keese, Community Member, Plymouth
  • Sally Knox, Community Member, Rehoboth
  • Dorothy Koczera, Director, New Bedford Council On Aging
  • Ray Lantz, Attorney, Lantz Law Firm, Attorneys At Law
  • John Magnani, Director, Falmouth Council On Aging
  • Mark Metzler, President, Saint Anne's Hospital
  • Norman Michaud, Administrator, Sippican Health Care Center, Marion, MA
  • Rose Oliveira, Community Member, New Bedford
  • Joyce Passos, Community Member, North Dartmouth
  • Mark Pechenik, Director, North Attleboro Council On Aging
  • Cora Pierce, Mass. Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children, New Bedford
  • Representative Ruth Provost
  • Patrick Richards, Director, Fall River Council On Aging
  • Chris Schembri, Director, Plymouth Council On Aging
  • Susan Schwager, Director, Marion Council On Aging
  • Elsie Sousa, Congressman Barney Frank's Office
  • Marion Spencer, Gerontology Institute, University of Massachusetts Boston
  • Lois Spirlet, Executive Director, Heritage at Dartmouth
  • Representative David Sullivan
  • Ora Mae Torres, Community Member, Marion
  • Sandra Vickery, Director, Bourne Council On Aging
  • Dr. Ameia Yen Patton, South Coast Hospital Systems, Charlton Memorial Hospital

For more information, please email us at:, or call (508) 999-8376.


Back to top of screen