Skip to main content.


Our mission is "Democratizing access to education"

The Kaput Center was established on  March 1st, 2007 in the spirit and vision of Professor James J. Kaput, whose innovative thinking and leadership inspired many in the field of mathematics education. The purpose of this Center is to provide a focus and support for sustained investigation of foundational issues in the field of STEM education, issues that will be chosen to enhance and deepen ongoing research by its members and associates. 

The Kaput Center also serves as a living laboratory for graduate students and UMassD faculty in the STEM Education PhD program.

Message from the Kaput Center director


The Kaput Center for Research and Innovation in STEM Education at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth (hereon called the “Kaput Center”) was founded by Professors Blanton, Hegedus and Moreno-Armella of the Department of Mathematics. The Kaput Center grew out of Professor Jim Kaput’s aim of democratizing mathematics for all learners.

President Jack Wilson approved its establishment on February 14th, 2007 and its was officially established by Dr. Anthony Garro, Provost of the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, on March 1st, 2007.

Dr. Stephen Hegedus, Professor in the Department of Mathematics, was appointed the Center’s first Director by Provost Garro and Chancellor MacCormack.

During the initial period of its establishment (March – June of FY07) the Director and the founding faculty established an Executive Board and External Advisory Board. Projects of the Mathematics Education faculty were transferred to the Center and an agenda for the operation and events of the Center for the upcoming years was established.

In 2014, Professor Hegedus resigned from UMass Dartmouth, leaving the Kaput Center in the hands of Professors Goodman, Güçler, and Orrill serving as Interim Directors while a permanent director was sought. The search for a permanent director for the Kaput Center in FY 2015 was not successful, thus the leadership structure remained the same for FY2016. In FY2017, Professor Walter Stroup joined the leadership team and Professor Goodman stepped into the role of Chairperson of the Executive Board without additional duties. At the end of FY2017, an internal search was conducted and Professor Chandra Orrill was named the Director of the Kaput Center effective July 1, 2017. Professor Goodman continued serving in his capacity as Chairperson of the Board. Professors Orrill and Goodman resigned from their respective positions in July 2020. At that time, the Kaput Center was put on hiatus because of the limitations of trying to operate during the COVID shutdown. In September 2021, Dr. Orrill was reinstated as the director of the Kaput Center. On May 31, 2023, Dr. Orrill left UMass Dartmouth. An internal search was conducted and Dr. Shakhnoza Kayumova was named the new Kaput Center Director effective June 6, 2023.

Back to top of screen