Skip to main content.

Our Team

Faculty/research scientists

Our faculty and research scientists study, discuss, and analyze fundamental issues in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) education, and seek to find innovative solutions that will benefit younger generations of STEM learners. 

Beste Gucler

Associate Professor

STEM Education & Teacher Development
Liberal Arts 396C


Shakhnoza Kayumova
Shakhnoza Kayumova

Associate Professor

STEM Education & Teacher Development
Liberal Arts 396G


Stephen Witzig
Stephen Witzig, PhD

Associate Professor

STEM Education & Teacher Development
Liberal Arts 398E


Walter Stroup

Associate Professor / Chairperson

STEM Education & Teacher Development
Liberal Arts 398B



Kimberly Welty
Kimberly Welty she/her

Grant Support Specialist

Kaput Center
Liberal Arts 114



Executive board

The Executive Board consists of the Director of the Kaput Center, ex-officio, and no more than fifteen other individuals who shall be faculty members at an accredited institution of higher education; qualified professional practitioners with a documented record of scholarship or professional experience in education or educational policy, particularly, but not constrained to, STEM education research; or drawn from positions of leadership in the public, non-profit, and private sectors. At least 50% of the Executive Board members will be employees of UMass Dartmouth.

  • Paul Fredette, MSEE (Board Chair), President & Founder of Promptus Communications, Inc. & Chief Technology Officer of American Doctors Online
  • James Burke, PhD, Engineering/Technology Teacher at Somerset-Berkley Regional High School
  • Karen Chang, PhD, Instructor of Chemistry at Naval Academy Preparatory School
  • Marylou T. Clarke, CAGS, Assistant Superintendent, Dartmouth Public Schools (Retired)
  • Elizabeth Cullen, BA, Director/Co-Founder of Rhode Island STEAM Academy
  • Robert Gegear, PhD, Associate Professor of Biology at UMass Dartmouth
  • Michael Goodman, PhD, Sr. Advisor to the Chancellor for Economic Development & Strategic Initiatives at UMass Dartmouth
  • Beste Gucler, PhD, Associate Professor of Math Education at UMass Dartmouth
  • Trina Kershaw, PhD, Professor of Psychology at UMass Dartmouth
  • Walter Stroup, PhD, Associate Professor & Chair of STEM Education & Teacher Development at UMass Dartmouth
  • Jay Wang, PhD, Professor & Chair of Physics at UMass Dartmouth
  • David Welty, PhD, Supervisor of Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment at Fairhaven High School
  • Stephen Witzig, PhD, Associate Professor of Science Education & Graduate Program Director, STEM Education PhD at UMass Dartmouth

Advisory board

The Kaput Center has a multidisciplinary, international Advisory board. Members of the Advisory board are advocates of the Center, promoting the work of the Center and establishing new associations with leaders in STEM education research and innovation.

  • Allan Cohen – University of Georgia
  • Andrew Izsák – Tufts University
  • Bharath Sriraman – University of Montana
  • Christopher Hoadley – University at Buffalo
  • David Kirshner – Louisiana State University
  • David Williamson Shaffer – University of Wisconsin
  • Demetra Pitta-Pantazi – University of Cyprus
  • Eric Hamilton – Pepperdine University
  • Joanne Lobato – San Diego State University
  • Jeremy Roschelle – Digital Promise
  • Jonathan Templin – University of Iowa
  • Luis Morena-Armella – National Polytechnic Institute, Mexico
  • Lyn English – Queensland University of Technology
  • Maria Blanton – TERC
  • Philip Vahey – Houghton-Mifflin Harcourt
  • Pratim Sengupta – University of Calgary
  • Tânia Maria Mendonça Campos – Universidade Bandeirante de São Paulo
  • Todd Campbell – University of Connecticut
Back to top of screen