Skip to main content.

Faculty and Staff Contacts

Students can find the Honors Center at the Claire T. Carney Library, Room 212. Students can also locate the Honors Program Director and Cindy Pisapia to ask any questions about the Honors Program.

Honors Program Staff

Catherine Villanueva Gardner

Director of the University Honors Program; Professor, Department of Philosophy and Women's and Gender Studies

Office: Library Room 215

Interim Association Director of the Honors ProgramProfessor Catherine Villanueva Gardner specializes in feminist philosophy, especially ethics, epistemology, and the retrieval of forgotten historical women philosophers. Her most recent book (PSU Press, 2012) explores whether there is a distinctive feminist approach to the history of philosophy. Her first book (Westview, 2003) examines why women philosophers have been excluded from the philosophical canon. Gardner was also invited to write a reference work, (Scarecrow, 2006). In addition, Gardner has published articles in journals and edited collections.

Telephone: 508.999.8253

Brian Ayotte

Associate Director of the University Honors Program, Associate Professor of Psychology

Office: LARTS Room 347

Professor Ayotte is an Associate Professor of Psychology at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth. He is also an adjunct faculty member of Center on Aging at Hebrew SeniorLife, an affiliate of Harvard Medical School. His research focuses primarily on the role of individual characteristics and interpersonal relationships in health and health behaviors throughout the life span. Prof. Ayotte has published over 16 peer reviewed articles and contributed to several book chapters.

Telephone: 508.999.9206

‌Keota Fields

Coordinator of Success and Advising, Associate Professor, Department of Philosophy

Office: LARTS Room 380

Cindy Pisapia

Administrative Assistant for the University Honors Program

Office: Library Room 214

Cindy Pisapia has been at UMass Dartmouth for 31 years. During that time, she has worked for the College of Visual and Performing Arts, the Center for Marine and Science Technology, and for the last 20 years, she has worked for the Honors Program.

Telephone: 508.999.8820, Fax: 508.910.6541

Return to Top

Honors Council Student Directors

Grant E. Mooney
Student Director

Brianna Johnson
Associate Student Director

Karen Keller

Sarah A. Moore
Community Service Director


Return to Top

Honors Committee

Anupama Arora
Professor, English
Office: LARTS, Room 322
Phone: 508.910.6250

Brian Ayotte
Associate Professor, Psychology
Office: LARTS, Room 347
Phone: 508.999.9206

Geoffrey Cowles
Associate Professor, SMAST Fisheries Oceanography
Office: SMAST East, New Bedford 218
Phone: 508.910.6397

Beste Gucler
Associate Professor, STEM Education and Teacher Development
Office: LARTS, Room 396C
Phone: 508.910.6952

Guarav Khanna
Professor, Physics
Office: SENG, Room 204A
Phone: 508.910.6605

Bruce Maddocks
Full Time Lecturer, Design

Office: CVPA, Room 302A
Phone: 508.910.6977

Olivia Piepmeier
Assistant Librarian, Library/Information Services
Office: Claire T. Carney Library, Room 237
Phone: 508.999.8526

Kristen Sethares
Associate Professor and PhD Program Director, Adult Nursing
Office: Dion, Room: 308 B
Phone: 508.999.9148

Cheng Wang
Assistant Professor, Mathematics
Office: LARTS, Room 394 G
Phone: 508.999.8342

D. Steven White
Professor, Management and Marketing
Office: CCB, Room 323
Phone: 508.999.8267