Skip to main content.

Contacts

Students can find the Honors Center in the Claire T. Carney Library, Suite 220. Students are welcome to visit and ask any questions about the Honors College.

Honors College Staff

Amy Shapiro
Amy Shapiro

Dean

Honors College
Claire T. Carney Library 221

508-910-9051
dvkdslurCxpdvvg1hgx

Dr. Shapiro's work has focused on the cognition underlying memory storage and retrieval in the classroom, laboratory and real world. She has examined the effect of the internet and classroom clickers on learning, the development of false memories and the organization of memory store. Her most recent research explores the personality characteristics and cognitive processes that underlie belief in conspiracy theories and misinformation. She seeks to uncover why it is that people who may use rigorous cognitive strategies in most areas of life employ more error-prone strategies when it comes to certain subjects (e.g., government or vaccines). Her work has been funded by the US Department of Education's IES program and the James S. McDonnell Foundation.

Brian Ayotte
Brian Ayotte

Associate Professor

Psychology
Liberal Arts 391

508-999-9206
`_wmrrc>sk_qqb,cbs

Dr. Ayotte is interested in the role of individual and interpersonal factors on health-related attitudes, behaviors, and outcomes through the lifespan. His work includes the examination of health behaviors in married couples, health-related outcomes in healthcare employees, independent living skills in younger and older adults, health-related decision making, and other related work. In his life outside of work, he loves to swim, bike, run, and hike with his wife and dog.

Suzanne Melloni
Suzanne Melloni

Director of Student Support Services

Honors College
Claire T. Carney Library 222

508-999-9299
nh`ggjid;ph\nn_)`_p

Kristen Kadlec
Kristin Kadlec

Assistant Director of Student Support Services

Honors College
Claire T. Carney Library 224

508-999-8493
llbemfdAvnbtte/fev

Maria Carreiro
Maria Carreiro

Administrative Assistant

Honors College
Claire T. Carney Library 220

508-999-8820
qgevvimvs5Dyqewwh2ihy

Honors Council Leaders

Fiona Marques 
President
Email: fmarques@umassd.edu

Leandro Neves 
Vice President
Email:
lneves1@umassd.edu

Isabella Gerardi 
Secretary
Email: igerardi@umassd.edu

Nicholas Carvalho
Treasurer
Email: ncarvalho5@umassd.edu

Tracy Le
Community Service Director
Email: tle20@umassd.edu

Olivia Munyambu
DEI Representative
Email: omunyambu@umassd.edu

Aiden Allen
Events Coordinator
Email: aallen6@umassd.edu

Anya Wallace
Photographer
Email: awallace5@umassd.edu

Kailey Sousa
Social Media Director
Email: ksousa10@umassd.edu

Nicholas Boisvert & Mary Goodrow
Under-Class Representative
Email: nboisvert@umassd.edu & mgoodrow@umassd.edu

Kaitlin Aurelio & Daniela Sousa
Upper-Class Representative
Email: kaurelio@umassd.edu & dsousa6@umassd.edu

Honors Faculty

Eli Evans
Eli Evans, PhD he/him/his

Assistant Teaching Professor

English & Communication
Liberal Arts 216F

508-999-8274
eevans@umassd.edu

Heliosa Alves
Heloisa Alves, PhD

Assistant Teaching Professor

Psychology
Liberal Arts 358

508-999-8381
kdoyhvCxpdvvg1hgx

Kristen Sethares
Kristen Sethares, PhD she/her/hers

Professor

College of Nursing & Health Sciences / Adult
Dion 308B

508-999-9148
goapd]nao<qi]oo`*a`q

Honors Curriculum Committee

Brian Ayotte
Chairperson
Honors Curriculum

Heloisa Alves 
Full Time Lecturer
Psychology

Eli Evans 
Full Time Lecturer
English & Communication

Tracie Ferreira
Associate Professor/Chairperson
Bioengineering

Laura Franz 
Professor
Art & Design

Jeanne Girard
Part-time Lecturer
Management & Marketing

Kristen Sethares 
Professor
College of Nursing & Health Sciences/Adult

Ronald Sherwin 
Associate Professor/Chairperson 
Music

Mark Silby
Associate Professor
Biology

Jay Zysk 
Associate Professor
English & Communication

Fiona Marques
Curriculum Committee Student Representative
Class of 2025

Leandro Neves
Curriculum Committee Student Representative
Class of 2026

 

Honors Advisory Council

Heloisa Alves 
Full Time Lecturer
Psychology

Paul Bacdayan
Associate Professor
Management & Marketing

Robert Darst
Associate Professor
Political Science

Eli Evans 
Full Time Lecturer
English & Communication

Jessica Fernandes Gomes 
Assistant Dean
College of Visual & Performing Arts

Tracie Ferreira
Associate Professor/Chairperson
Bioengineering

Laura Franz 
Professor
Art & Design

Jeanne Girard
Part-time Lecturer
Management & Marketing

Mahzad Hojjat 
Professor
Psychology

Pamela Karimi
Associate Professor
Art Education Art History & Media Studies

Jennifer Mulnix
Professor/Chairperson
Philosophy

Kristen Sethares 
Professor
College of Nursing & Health Sciences/Adult

Michael Sheriff 
Assistant Professor
Biology

Ronald Sherwin 
Associate Professor/Chairperson 
Music

Mark Silby
Associate Professor
Biology

Glaucia Silva 
Professor
Portuguese

Steven White
Professor
Management & Marketing

Jay Zysk
Associate Professor
English & Communication

Fiona Marques
Advisory Council Student Representative
Class of 2025

Back to top of screen