Skip to main content.

Honor Society

The Economics Department of the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth is a member of the International Honor Society in Economics: Omicron Delta Epsilon. The Alpha Epsilon chapter of Massachusetts is the 578th chapter in the international organization. The first induction of students: May 2001.

The Objectives of Omicron Delta Epsilon

  • Recognition of scholastic attainment in economics
  • Recognition of outstanding achievements in economics on the part of economists at all levels
  • Establishment of closer ties between students and faculty in economics within their own colleges and universities
  • Establishment of closer ties between students and faculty in economics on all campuses
  • Publication of an official journal
  • Emphasize the professional aspects of economics as a career field for service in academic, business, government, and international organizations

The Philosophy of Omicron Delta Epsilon

The honor society and all its chapters are dedicated to the encouragement of excellence in economics. Omicron Delta Epsilon encourages devotion on the part of its members as economists to the advancement of their science and to the scholarly effort to make freedom from want and deprivation a reality for all mankind.

The History of Omicron Delta Epsilon:

Omicron Delta Epsilon, one of the largest academic honor societies, was established in 1963 as a result of a merger of two honor societies: Omicron Delta Gamma (founded in 1915 by Professor John R. Commons at the University of Wisconsin and Frank W. Taussig at Harvard University), and Omicron Chi Epsilon (founded in 1956 by Professor Alan A. Brown when he was a student at the City College of New York). It became an International Honor Society in Economics in 1969. Since that time, chapters throughout the world have been added.

Organizational Structure:

Omicron Delta Epsilon is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies in the United States, and thus fully recognized and accredited.

The honor society is governed by an international executive board consisiting of:

  • International President
  • President-elect
  • Two or more vice-presidents
  • Executive secretary-treasurer
  • Editor-in-chief of The American Economist
  • Editor of the Fisher/Taussig Competitions
  • Chair of the International Board of Trustees
  • Chair and vice-chair of the Board of Trustees
  • Outstanding economists from the United States and other countries

The International Executive Board is the operative governing body of the society. It meets at least once a year to:

  • Set policy
  • Approve new chapters
  • Recommend requested changes in the constitution
  • Take action on appropriate matters and issues.

Eligibility for Membership at UMASS Dartmouth:

Undergraduates: must have an overall scholastic GPA of 3.2 and at least twelve credits in economics courses with an economics GPA of 3.2 or better. In addition, a grade of at least B- is required in ECO 301 Intermediate Microeconomics, ECO 311 Intermediate Macroeconomics, and ECO 332 Economic Statistics.

Students must have completed either ECO 301 or ECO 311 to be considered for membership.

Students do not necessarily have to be economics majors, but they must have a genuine interest in economics. Any student, from any major, meeting the above requirements will be considered for membership.

Faculty members: no admission requirements. All are eligible and welcome to join as charter members of the chapter, or they may be elected later by the chapter.

Honorary members and Alumni members: candidates for membership must be persons of high ethical and professional standards.

No one shall be denied membership because of sex, race, color, creed, or national origin.

Back to top of screen