Alan 
Austin

Graduate Student/ Lab Assistant

Oceanographic Remote Sensing Lab
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 222

aaustin2@umassd.edu

Alex 
Hansell

Graduate Student

Fisheries Biology and Assessment
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 120

Alex 
Warn-Varnas

Adjunct Professor

Oceanographic Modeling and Analysis
Naval Research Laboratory

kazysvarnas@gmail.com

Alexa 
Kretsch

Graduate Student

Fisheries Oceanography
SMAST II, 010A

akretsch@umassd.edu

Amanda 
Hart

Graduate Student

The Fay Lab
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 222

Amber 
Unruh

Graduate Student/ Technician

Coastal Systems
SMAST WEST (706 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 119

508-910-6325
aunruh@umassd.edu

Andrew 
Green

Adjunct Professor

Marine Turbulence
Naval Undersea Warfare Center

508-910-6375
andrew.d.greene@navy.mil

Anne Cone 
Bucklin

Adjunct Professor

Biological Oceanography - Plankton Ecology
University of Connecticut

860-405-9208
ann.bucklin@uconn.edu

Ashley 
Weston

Graduate Student

The Fay Lab
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 222

aweston@umassd.edu

Benjamin  
Galuardi

Graduate Student

Fisheries Biology and Assessment
SMAST II, 010A

bgaluardi@umassd.edu

Bradley 
Harris

Adjunct Professor

Marine Fisheries Field Research
Alaska Pacific University

907-564-8802
bharris@alaskapacific.edu

Brian 
Rothschild

Professor Emeritus

Marine Finfish Dynamics
SMAST I, Rm 220A

508-910-6382
brothschild@umassd.edu

Chang 
Liu

Graduate Student

Computational Methods Laboratory
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 223

cliu3@umassd.edu

Conference Room

SMAST II, Rm 325A

508-999-9193

Craig 
Lego

Graduate Student

Marine Fisheries Field Research
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 119

clego@umassd.edu

Craig 
Taylor

Adjunct Professor

Estuarine and Ocean Sciences
WHOI

508-289-2354
ctaylor@whoi.edu

David 
Pierce

Adjunct Professor

Fisheries Oceanography
MA Div. Mar. Fisheries

617-626-1532
david.pierce@state.ma.us

David 
Townsend

Adjunct Professor

Fisheries Oceanography
Univ. of Maine - Orono

207-581-4367
davidt@maine.edu

Debra 
Duarte

Graduate Student

Fisheries Biology and Assessment Lab
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 119

dduarte@umassd.edu

Dennis 
McGillicuddy

Adjunct Professor

Biological Oceanography - Plankton Ecology
WHOI

508-289-2683
dmcgillicuddy@whoi.edu

Deshuai 
Wang

Graduate Student

Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 223

dwang@umassd.edu

Avijit
Gangopadhyay

Professor

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 230

508-910-6330
ezmnmx2kerkstehl}e}Dyqewwh2ihy

Andre
Schmidt

Systems Administrator

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 207

508-910-6381
dvfkplgwCxpdvvg1hgx

Amit
Tandon

Professor

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
Science & Engineering 208A

508-999-8357
^q^kalk=rj^ppa+bar

Arlene
Wilkinson

Administrative Assistant II

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 325

508-999-8413
bxjmljotpoAvnbtte/fev

Brian
Howes

Professor

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 116A

508-910-6325
agnvdr?tl`rrc-dct

Brooke
Wright

Technical Associate

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 129

508-910-6372
dtqqmg0ytkijvBwocuuf0gfw

Changsheng
Chen

Professor & Montgomery Charter Chair

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 226

508-910-6388
_-_daj<qi]oo`*a`q

Cynthia
Costa

Administrative Assistant II

SMAST / Administration
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 204

508-910-6550
ggswxe7Dyqewwh2ihy

Courtney
Donovan

Laboratory Technician

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 201

508-910-6387
`alkls^k=rj^ppa+bar

Christine
Fox

Clerk IV

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 202

508-910-6351
fir{Cxpdvvg1hgx

Christian
Petitpas

Research Technician

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 212

508-910-6385
bi`cknvhb?tl`rrc-dct

Cynthia
Pilskaln

Professor

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 218A

508-910-6327
`mfiph^ik=rj^ppa+bar

Christopher
Rillahan

Technical Associate

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 112

508-910-6323
dsjmmbiboAvnbtte/fev

David
White

Research Associate

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 116

508-910-6365
c0vghsd?tl`rrc-dct

Daniel
Georgianna

Chancellor Professor Emeritus

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 304

508-910-6378
`caknce]jj]<qi]oo`*a`q

Dale
Goehringer Toner

Senior Research Associate

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 116

508-910-6325
cfndgqhmfdq?tl`rrc-dct

Daniel
MacDonald

Professor

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 233


s|prs~}p{sO„|p‚‚s=ts„

David
Schlezinger

Research Associate

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 114A

508-910-6314
dschlezinger@umassd.edu

Eric
Lyonnais

Facilities Manager

SMAST / Administration
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 113

508-910-6304
elyonnais@umassd.edu

Geoffrey
Cowles

Associate Professor

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 218

508-910-6397
d`ltibp=rj^ppa+bar

Gavin
Fay

Assistant Professor

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 228

508-910-6363
hgbzAvnbtte/fev

Gail
Lyonnais

Administrative Assistant II

SMAST / Administration
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 325

508-910-6353
hmzpoobjtAvnbtte/fev

James
Bisagni

Professor Emeritus

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 224

508-910-6328
f^eo]cje<qi]oo`*a`q

Jianhua
Qi

Research Associate Professor

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 225

508-910-6355
iph?tl`rrc-dct

Kyle
Cassidy

Technical Associate

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 325

508-910-6367
h`^ppfav=rj^ppa+bar

Kevin
Stokesbury

Professor

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 122

508-910-6373
ltuplftcvszAvnbtte/fev

Liuzhi
Zhao

Postdoctoral

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 208A

508-910-6383
m{ibpAvnbtte/fev

Mark
Altabet

Professor

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 122A

508-999-8622
ocnvcdgvBwocuuf0gfw

Bartlett
Michael

Technical Associate

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 114

508-910-6325
la`qskdss?tl`rrc-dct

Michael
Deignan

Computer & Electronics Systems Manager

SMAST / Administration
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 201/202

508-910-6302
okejcgn0fgkipcpBwocuuf0gfw

Michael
Marino

Assistant Dean for Operations

SMAST / Administration
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 205

508-999-8925
ll`qhmn?tl`rrc-dct

Miles
Sundermeyer

Professor

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 110A

508-999-8892
ouwpfgtog{gtBwocuuf0gfw

N. David
Bethoney

Research Assistant Professor

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography

508-910-6386
l`crfmlcw>sk_qqb,cbs

Pingguo
He

Professor

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 127

508-910-6323
qifAvnbtte/fev

Qichun
Xu

Researcher / Post Doctoral

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 208

508-910-6335
pwt?tl`rrc-dct

Rupsa
Roy

Technical Associate

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences

508-910-6320
vytwe2vs}Dyqewwh2ihy

Roland
Samimy

Research Manager

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 114A

508-910-6314
rsamimy@umassd.edu

Susan
Silva

Clerk IV

SMAST / Administration
School for Marine Science & Technology West, New Bedford 104

508-910-6370
w5wmpzeDyqewwh2ihy

Steven
Cadrin

Professor

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 121

508-910-6358
o_]`nej<qi]oo`*a`q

Steven
Lohrenz

Dean & Professor

SMAST / Administration
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 203

508-910-6550
wpslvir~Dyqewwh2ihy

Travis
Lowery

Technical Associate

SMAST / Fisheries Oceanography
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 128

508-910-6393
umpxfszAvnbtte/fev

Wendell
Brown

Professor

SMAST / Estuarine & Ocean Sciences
School for Marine Science & Technology East, New Bedford 229

508-910-6395
vaqnvm?tl`rrc-dct

Elizabeth 
Winiarz

Library Liaison

Administration
SMAST I, Rm 103

508-999-8696
ewiniarz@umassd.edu

Emily 
Keiley

Research Associate

Marine Finfish Dynamics
SMAST II, Rm 300

508-910-6357
ekeiley@umassd.edu

Eric 
Heupel

Research Associate

Marine Fisheries Field Research

508-910-6394
eheupel@umassd.edu

Evan 
Casey

Graduate Student

Computational Methods Laboratory
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 223

ecasey1@umassd.edu

Farrell 
Davis

Graduate Student

Fish Behavior and Conservation Engineering in Marine Capture Fisheries
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 120

fdavis@umassd.edu

Gregory B. 
Skomal

Adjunct Professor

Fisheries Oceanography
MA Division of Marine Fisheries

508-910-6305
gregory.skomal@state.ma.us

Huichan 
Lin

Research Associate

Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling
SMAST I, Rm 210A

508-910-6355
hlin@umassd.edu

Jake 
Kritzer

Adjunct Professor

Marine Fisheries Field Research
Environmental Defense Fund

617-869-1336
jkritzer@edf.org

James 
Churchill

Adjunct Professor

Computational Methods Laboratory
WHOI

508-289-2807
jchurchill@whoi.edu

Janne 
Haugen

Graduate Student

Fisheries Biology and Assessment
SMAST II, Rm 200

508-207-2450
jhaugen@umassd.edu

Jason 
Link

Adjunct Professor

Fisheries Oceanography
NOAA/NMFS, Northeast Fisheries Science Center

508-495-2340
Jason.Link@noaa.gov

Jennifer 
Benson

Research Technician

Coastal Systems
SMAST I, Rm 119

508-910-6325
Jennifer.benson@umassd.edu

John 
Mandelman

Adjunct Professor

Fish Behavior
New England Aquarium

617-226-2168
jmandelman@neaq.org

John W. 
Farrington

Adjunct Professor

Biogeochemistry
WHOI, Emeritus

jfarrington@umassd.edu

John 
Walden

Visiting Scholar

Fisheries Oceanography
SMAST II, 010A

508-910-6365
john.walden@NOAA.gov

Jonathan  
Hare

Adjunct Professor

Fisheries Oceanography
NOAA

401-782-3295
jon.hare@noaa.gov

Kate 
Tremblay

Graduate Student

Ocean Observation Lab
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 222

508-910-6356
ktremblay1@umassd.edu

Kathryn 
Ford

Adjunct Professor

Biogeochemical Particle Flux and Sedimentation
MA Div. Marine Fisheries

774-279-3695
kathryn.ford@state.ma.us

Katyanne 
Shoemaker

Graduate Student

Biology
SENG 333

405-395-8077
kshoemaker@umassd.edu

Kenneth 
Brink

Adjunct Professor

Department of Estuarine and Ocean Sciences

kbrink@whoi.edu

Larry 
Jacobson

Adjunct Professor

Fisheries Oceanography
NOAA

508-495-2317
larry.jacobson@noaa.gov

Lauren 
Horton

Graduate Student

Marine Fisheries Field Research
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 119

lhorton@umassd.edu

Liberty 
Schilpp

Graduate Student

The Fay Lab
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 222

lschilpp@umassd.edu

Lou 
Saint Laurent

Adjunct Professor

Marine Turbulence
WHOI

lstlaurent@whoi.edu

Louis 
Goodman

Professor Emeritus

Marine Turbulence

508-999-8931
lgoodman@umassd.edu

Lu 
Wang

Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 223

Margot 
Wilsterman

Graduate Student

Fish Behavior and Conservation Engineering in Marine Capture Fisheries
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 120

mwilsterman@umassd.edu

Marjorie 
Lyssikatos

Graduate Student

Fisheries Biology and Assessment Lab
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 120

mlyssikatos@umassd.edu

Mark P. 
Cotter

Graduate Student

Biology
SMAST II, 010A

508-944-4664
mcotter@umassd.edu

Megan 
Winton

Graduate Student

The Fay Lab
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 223

508-910-6890
mwinton@umassd.edu

Melissa 
Goulet

Graduate Student

Marine Fisheries Field Research
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 119

mgoulet@umassd.edu

Michael 
Armstrong

Adjunct Professor

Fisheries Oceanography
Massachusetts Division of Marine Fisheries

978-282-0308 x109
michael.armstrong@state.ma.us

Micheline S. 
Labrie

Graduate Student

Coastal Systems
SMAST WEST (706 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 110B

508-910-6321
mlabrie@umassd.edu

Mike 
Fogarty

Adjunct Professor

Fisheries Oceanography
NOAA/NMFS, Northeast Fisheries Science Center

508-495-2386
Michael.Fogarty@noaa.gov

Molly 
Morse

Graduate Student

Fisheries Biology and Assessment
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 119

mmorse1@umassd.edu

Nathalie 
Staiger

Graduate Student

Biogeochemical Particle Flux and Sedimentation
SMAST WEST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 118A

nstaiger@umassd.edu

Nicholas 
Calabrese

Graduate Student

Marine Fisheries Field Research
SMAST EAST, 119

ncalabrese@umassd.edu

Owen 
Nichols

Graduate Student

Fisheries Biology and Assessment
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 133

508-910-6394
onichols@umassd.edu

Paul 
Winger

Adjunct Professor

Fisheries Oceanography

Paul.Winger@mi.mun.ca

Phil 
Politis

Graduate Student

Fish Behavior
NOAA/NEFSC

508-495-2171
ppolitis@umassd.edu

Pooja 
Potti

Coastal Systems
SMAST WEST (706 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 110B

508-910-6321

Richard 
Arena

Research Associate

Ocean Observation

508-910-6377
rarena@umassd.edu

Robert 
Beardsley

Adjunct Professor

Fisheries Oceanography
WHOI

508-289-2536
rbeardsley@whoi.edu

Robert 
Wildermuth

Graduate Student

The Fay Lab
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 223

508-910-6890
rwildermuth@umassd.edu

Rubao 
Ji

Adjunct Professor

Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling
WHOI

508-289-2986
rji@whoi.edu

Sara 
Sampieri Horvet

Research Technician

Coastal Systems
SMAST I, Rm 119

508-910-6325
ssampieri@umassd.edu

Sarah 
Whitman

Graduate Student

Marine Fisheries Field Research
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 120

swhitman@umassd.edu

Sean 
Lucey

Graduate Student

Fisheries Biology and Assessment
NE Fisheries Science Center

508-495-2011
sean.lucey@noaa.gov

Sheel 
Prajapati

Graduate Student

Biogeochemistry
SMAST I, Rm 206

774-251-8690
sheelprajapati1@gmail.com

Siqi 
Li

Graduate Student

Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling
SMAST EAST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 223

508-542-9874
sli4@umassd.edu

SMAST Department of Fisheries Oceanography

Administration

508-910-6351

SMAST Department of Estuarine & Ocean Sciences

Administration

508-910-6370

Stephanie 
Thompson

Graduate Student

Fisheries Oceanography
U.S. Navy

Navygal06@aol.com

Susan 
Inglis

Research Associate

Marine Fisheries Field Research
SMAST II, Rm 300

508-910-6359
singlis@umassd.edu

Tammy 
Silva

Graduate Student

Biology

tsilva4@umassd.edu

Timothy 
Miller

Adjunct Professor

Marine Finfish Dynamics
WHOI

508-495-2365
timothy.j.miller@noaa.gov

Tobey 
Curtis

Graduate Student

Fisheries Biology and Assessment
SMAST II, 010A

tcurtis@umassd.edu

Victoria 
Gray

Graduate Student

Biogeochemical Particle Flux and Sedimentation
SMAST WEST (836 South Rodney French Blvd, New Bedford), 118A

vgray@umassd.edu

W. Forrest 
Kennedy

Aquaculture Technician

Administration
SMAST I, Seawater Room

508-910-6339
wkennedy1@umassd.edu

Yu 
Zhang

Graduate Student

Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling
SMAST I, Rm 206

774-634-6351
yzhang3@umassd.edu

Zhong-Xiang 
Wu

Adjunct Faculty

Marine Ecosystem Dynamics Modeling
Exponent, Inc. Natick, MA

508-652-8515
zwu@exponent.com