Exhibitions 2024: Emerging Young Artists and Designers 2024 Juried Exhibition

Exhibitions 2024: Emerging Young Artists and Designers 2024 Juried Exhibition
Emerging Young Artists and Designers 2024 Juried Exhibition

Virtual Exhibition Opening, Reception, and Awards Presentation: Friday, January 26, 4:30pm

UMass Dartmouth’s College of Visual and Performing Arts (CVPA) is pleased to present the Emerging Young Artists and Designers 2024 Juried Exhibition, continuing the tradition of exhibiting high school students’ work since 2013.  

The EYAD 2024 virtual exhibition opening, reception, and awards presentation for the exhibiting artists, their art teachers, the UMass Dartmouth community, and the general public will be held online on Friday, January 26, 4:30pm, at the Zoom link: https://bit.ly/EYAD2024

Emerging Young Artists and Designers is a highly competitive online juried exhibition, which celebrates the exceptional artistic merit of New England’s high school students. EYAD 2024 received submissions from over 800 young artists, from which the juror, CVPA’s Associate Dean Ann Kim, selected 200 works for the exhibition. The result, available here after January 26th, is a marvelous online showcase that offers an inspiring glimpse into the unique perspectives of New England's young talents.


1st Place Award - Joy Son (junior), Belmont High School (Belmont, MA)
My 엄마, 2023, acrylic paint
Teacher: Mark Milowsky

2nd Place Award - Chloe Xu (junior), Belmont High School (Belmont, MA)
Judgement-Free Zone, 2023, acrylic paint
Teacher: Mark Milowsky

3rd Place Award - Isaiah Agyekumi (freshman), Avon Old Farm (Avon, CT)
Self Portrait - Mysterious Blue Boy, 2023, ink, charcoal
Teacher: Cristina Pinton

Dean's Choice Award - Dora Dorval (senior), Brockton High School (Brockton, MA)
Lilith, 2023, acrylic
Teacher: Erin DeSimone

Foundations Award - Elisabeth Turner (senior), Dennis Yarmouth Reginal High School (Dennis, MA)
Swimming Moray, 2023, ceramics
Teacher: Craig Brodt

Honorable Mention - Melanie Boria (senior), Nonnewaug High School (Woodbury, CT)
Hive, 2023, acrylic
Teacher: Leeza Desjardins

Honorable Mention - Qihan Fu (senior), Dana Hall School (Wellesley, MA)
Looking Back, 2023, colored pencil
Teacher: Michael Frassinelli

Honorable Mention - Nika Grusby (senior), Newton North High School (Newton, MA)
Excess, 2023, Mixed Media: gouache, marker, colored pencil
Teacher: Shannon Slattery

Honorable Mention - Allison Loya (senior), Fairfield Ludlowe High School (Fairfield, CT)
La Lucha, 2023, photograph
Teacher: Michele Hermsen

Honorable Mention - Samantha Goneau (senior), Burlington High School (Burlington, MA)
Park City Ski Chalet, 2023, Foam Core Model
Teacher: Christina Chang

Honorable Mention - Isadora Brandao (senior), Barnstable High School (Barnstable, MA)
My Decapitated Head, 2023, sculpture, acrylic paint, shells
Teacher: Matt Kemp

Honorable Mention - Jin Roe (junior), Belmont High School (Belmont, MA)
Melting, 2023, acrylic
Teacher: Mark Milowsky

Honorable Mention - Sara Delic (junior), Wethersfield High School (Wethersfield, CT)
Self Portrait, 2023, marker, pen, watercolor, paper
Teacher: Andrea Haas

People's Choice Award - Kelly Wasserboehr (junior), Natick High School (Natick, MA)
Hands On, 2023, pencil
Teacher: Linda Anderson 

PEOPLE'S CHOICE AWARD - Kelly Wasserboehr (junior), Hands On, 2023, pencil | Natick High School (Natick, MA), Teacher: Linda Anderson

EYAD 2024 Exhibiting Schools

The EYAD 2024 exhibiting schools are: 
Apponequet Regional High School, MA; Avon Old Farms School CT; Barnstable High School, MA; Bedford High School, NH; Belmont High School, MA; Brockton High School, MA; Brookline High School, MA; Burlington High School, MA; Canton High School, MA; Cranston High School East, RI; Cranston High School West, RI; Dana Hall School, MA; Danvers High School, MA; Darien High School, CT; Dartmouth High School, MA; Dennis Yarmouth Regional High School, MA; Edward Little High School, ME; Fairfield Ludlowe High School, CT; Fairhaven High School, MA; Falmouth Academy, MA; Falmouth High School, MA; Falmouth High School, ME; Farmington High School, CT; Greater New Bedford Vocational Technical High School, MA; Groton Dunstable Regional High School, MA; Haverhill High School, MA; Hopkinton High School, MA; Lincoln School, RI; Longmeadow High School, MA; Lowell High School, MA; Lynn Classical High School, MA; Lynn English School, MA; Manchester Essex Regional High School, MA; Marblehead High School, MA; Medfield High School, MA; Medomak Valley High School, ME; Millis High School, MA; Minuteman High School, MA; Natick High School, MA; Newton North High School, MA; Nonnewaug High School, CT; North Quincy High School, MA; Norwich Free Academy, CT; Oakmont Regional High School, MA; Old Rochester Regional High School, MA; Pingree School, MA; Rockland High School, MA; Scarborough High School, ME; Seekonk High School, MA; Shawsheen Valley Regional Vocational Technical High School, MA; Shepherd Hill Regional High School, MA; Silver Lake Regional High School, MA; Somerset Berkley Regional High School, MA; South Hadley High School, MA; St. Andrew’s School, RI; St. Mary High School, MA; The Cambridge School of Weston, MA; Ursuline Academy, MA; Wachusett Regional High School, MA; Waring School, MA; Wayland High School, MA; Wellesley High School, MA; West Springfield High School, MA; Wethersfield High School, CT; and Winchester High School, MA.


Prof. Stephanie McGoldrick smcgoldrick1@umassd.edu and Prof. Elena Peteva epeteva@umassd.edu

1st PLACE AWARD - Joy Son (junior), My 엄마, 2023, acrylic paint | Belmont High School (Belmont, MA), Teacher: Mark Milowsky
1st PLACE AWARD - Joy Son (junior), My 엄마, 2023, acrylic paint | Belmont High School (Belmont, MA), Teacher: Mark Milowsky