Skip to main content.

The UMass Dartmouth Department of Public Safety is a full service, MPAC Accredited Law Enforcement Agency that provides a wide array of Police and Public Safety services to the University community, which consists of a 710-acre main campus and five satellite campuses located in the cities of New Bedford and Fall River.


The Department of Public Safety maintains three basic service divisions to facilitate our mission:


The department is composed of professional police, security and public safety personnel. Our police officers are vested with full law enforcement powers and receive the same initial training as municipal law enforcement officers in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Officers are required to attend the Massachusetts Municipal Police Training Committee Recruit Academy and are supplemented by ongoing in-service training each year. Each new police recruit receives 8 weeks of field training through a standardized Field Training and Evaluation Program (FTEP)


The UMass Dartmouth Department of Public Safety is committed to supporting the philosophy of building partnerships, proactive problem solving, and fostering positive community interaction with the goal of reducing crime and enhancing the quality of life for all students, faculty and staff.


The UMass Dartmouth Department of Public Safety provides a comprehensive program of police and public safety services to enhance the quality of life consistent with the values of the university community. As a dedicated partner in our community, we are committed to delivering these essential services with the utmost integrity and professionalism to ensure civility and the protection of life and property.

Dept. of Public Safety Brochure 


Visit us virtually

Visit us from anywhere, at any time.
Take a virtual tour of the UMass Dartmouth campus.