Yifei Li

Yifei Li, PhD


Electrical & Computer Engineering

Professor Yifei Li RF Photonics Lab




Science & Engineering 214E


2003Drexel UniversityPhD in Electrical Engineering
2001Drexel UniversityMS in Electrical Engineering
1996Hauzhong University, ChinaBS in Optoelectronics Engineering





Topics of timely interest in electrical and computer engineering. Course content may change from year to year according to instructor's preferences.

Illustration of principles of advanced electronics and photonics by showing their applications in advanced radar, wired/wireless communications, and electronic sensing. Key electronics/photonics devices including high speed transistors, diodes, lasers, high frequency modulators, photodetectors, amplifiers, and passive circuitries are discussed. System applications including advanced radar system, radio over fiber, and millimeter wave /THz signal generation and processing are deliberated and analyzed.

Select publications

  • Yoo, D. K.; Li, Y.; Goldwasser, S. M.; Jemison, W. D.; Herczfeld, P. R. (2008).
    “Coupled Optoelectronic Oscillation via Fundamental Mode-Locking in a Composite-Cavity Electro-Optic Microchip Laser”
    IEEE/OSA Journal of Lightwave Technology, 26, 824-831.
  • Li, Y.; Ding, G.H.; Herczfeld, P.R. (2008).
    “Photonic phase-locked-loop linear phase demodulator”
    Electronics Letters, 44, 375-376.
  • Li, Y.; Herczfeld P.; Rosen, A.; Bystrom, M.; Jemison, W. (2008).
    “Optical down-conversion and digital processing of microwave signals”
    Journal of European Microwave Association, 4, 226-235.

Dr. Yifei Li received his B.Eng. in Optoelectronics from Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China, in 1996. He received his MS (2001) and PhD (2003) in Electrical Engineering both from Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA. From 2003 to 2007, he was a research faculty with the Center for Microwave-Lightwave Engineering, Drexel University. In 2007, he joined the ECE Department of the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, where he is currently a full professor and the director of the RF Photonics Lab. From 2013 to 2014, Dr. Li was a visiting faculty in the Optoelectronic Research Group of the University of California Santa Barbara. Dr. Li’s research interests includes RF photonics, photonic integrated circuits, coherent optical communications, RF devices and systems, and laser physics.

Dr. Li has five US patents in RF Photonics. He has numerous publications in renowned technical journals and international conference proceedings. Since he joined UMassD, he has led 8 competitive research projects funded from the Navy, Airforce and DARPA as the Principle investigator. Dr. Li was a winner of European Microwave Association (EuMA) Young Scientist Prize (1st prize) during the 12th Colloquium on Microwave Communications held in Budapest, Hungary. He was a winner of 2008 DARPA MTO Young Faculty Award.

Latest from Yifei

Request edits to your profile