Skip to main content.

Following is a list of Massachusetts holidays and the dates on which they will be observed for calendar years 2021 - 2023.

 

HOLIDAY

2021

2022

2023

New Year’s Day

January First

 

Jan. 1, Fri.

 

Jan. 1, Sat.*

 

Jan. 1, Sun.** 

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Third Monday in January

 

Jan. 18, Mon.

 

Jan. 17, Mon.

 

Jan. 16, Mon.

Washington’s Birthday

Third Monday in February

 

Feb. 15, Mon.

 

Feb. 14, Mon.

 

Feb. 20, Mon.

Patriots’ Day

Third Monday in April

 

Apr. 19, Mon.

 

Apr. 18, Mon.

 

Apr. 17, Mon.

Memorial Day

Last Monday in May

 

May 31, Mon.

 

May 30, Mon.

 

May 29, Mon.

Juneteenth Independence Day

June 19th

 

June 19th, Sat.*

 

June 19th, Sun.**

 

June 19, Mon.

Independence Day

July 4th

 

July 4, Sun.**

 

July 4, Mon.

 

July 4, Tue. 

Labor Day

First Monday in September

 

Sept. 6, Mon.

 

Sept. 5, Mon.

 

Sept. 4, Mon.

Columbus Day

Second Monday in October

 

Oct. 11, Mon.

 

Oct. 10, Mon.

 

Oct. 9, Mon. 

Veterans’ Day

November 11th

 

Nov. 11, Thu.

 

Nov. 11, Fri. 

 

Nov. 11, Sat.* 

Thanksgiving Day

Customarily the fourth Thursday in November 

 

Nov. 25, Thurs.

 

Nov. 24, Thurs.

 

Nov. 23, Thurs.

Christmas Day

December 25th

 

Dec. 25, Sat.* 

 

Dec. 25, Sun.**

 

Dec. 25, Mon.

 *SATURDAY HOLIDAYS:

In the event a legal holiday falls on a Saturday, all offices under the jurisdiction of any department of state government shall be open to the public for business on the Friday immediately preceding any Saturday holiday.

Managers and confidential employees: As many employees as possible should be given off the Friday immediately preceding the Saturday holiday. Whenever possible, the following Monday shall be used as the alternative day off. Employees assigned to work shall be given an additional day off.

**SUNDAY HOLIDAYS:

In the event a legal holiday falls on a Sunday, the holiday will be observed on the following Monday.

Bargaining unit employees: please reference your collective bargaining agreement for more information specific to your union

bg

Visit us virtually

Visit us from anywhere, at any time.
Take a virtual tour of the UMass Dartmouth campus.