Skip to main content.

Following is a list of Massachusetts holidays and the dates on which they will be observed for calendar years 2022 - 2024.

 

Holiday Date 2022 2023 2024
New Year’s Day January First Jan. 1, Sat.* Jan. 1, Sun.**  Jan. 1, Mon.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Third Monday in January Jan. 17, Mon. Jan. 16, Mon. Jan. 15, Mon.
President's Day Third Monday in February Feb. 21, Mon. Feb. 20, Mon. Feb. 19, Mon.
Patriots’ Day Third Monday in April Apr. 18, Mon. Apr. 17, Mon. Apr. 15, Mon.
Memorial Day Last Monday in May May 30, Mon. May 29, Mon. May 27, Mon.
Juneteenth June 19th June 19th, Sun.** June 19, Mon. June 19, Wed.
Independence Day July 4th July 4, Mon. July 4, Tue.  July 4, Thurs.
Labor Day First Monday in September Sept. 5, Mon. Sept. 4, Mon. Sept. 2, Mon.
Columbus Day Second Monday in October Oct. 10, Mon. Oct. 9, Mon.  Oct. 14, Mon. 
Veterans’ Day November 11th Nov. 11, Fri.  Nov. 11, Sat.*  Nov. 11, Mon.
Thanksgiving Day Customarily the fourth Thursday in November  Nov. 24, Thurs. Nov. 23, Thurs. Nov. 28, Thurs.
Christmas Day December 25th Dec. 25, Sun.** Dec. 25, Mon. Dec. 25, Wed.


In the event a legal holiday falls on a Saturday, all offices under the jurisdiction of any department of state government shall be open to the public for business on the Friday immediately preceding any Saturday holiday. *SATURDAY HOLIDAYS:

Managers and confidential employees: As many employees as possible should be given off the Friday immediately preceding the Saturday holiday. Whenever possible, the following Monday shall be used as the alternative day off. Employees assigned to work shall be given an additional day off.

**SUNDAY HOLIDAYS:

In the event a legal holiday falls on a Sunday, the holiday will be observed on the following Monday.

Bargaining unit employees: please reference your collective bargaining agreement for more information specific to your union

bg

Visit us virtually

Visit us from anywhere, at any time.
Take a virtual tour of the UMass Dartmouth campus.