Annual Student Leadership Awards honors campus changemakers

The Annual Student Leadership Awards Banquet was held on Wednesday, April 17 in Woodland Commons.

Group photo of student award winners

The Annual Student Leadership Awards Banquet was held on Wednesday, April 17 in Woodland Commons. The event was hosted by Christopher Laib, Director of the Student Activities, Involvement & Leadership Office. Chancellor Robert E. Johnson and Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, Shannon M. Finning greeted everyone in attendance prior to the dinner service.

Awards were presented to the following student organizations, student leaders, faculty, and staff members:


  • Most Improved Student Organization of the Year – UMassD Step Team
  • Student Organization of the Year – House of Deliberations
  • Student Organization Advisor of the Year – Terrance Burton (advisor to 20 Cent Fiction)
  • Event of the Year – “Mehndi Night” presented by the Pakistani Student Association
  • Emerging Leader of the Year – Harshil Patel
  • David M. Milstone Established Leaders of the Year – Silavong Phimmasone and Kaitlyn Bernard
  • Donald C. Howard Leadership Series Recognition – Brianna Johnson, Marta Pleitiez-Hercules, Margaret Sullivan
  • University Civic Engagement Award – Josue Rivera Valdez
  • Frederick Douglass Unity Award – Eric James and Shaunia Bronson
  • Center for Religious and Spiritual Life Awards – Danielle Brown, Muhammad Farooqui, Carla Goncalves, Christian Louis
  • Outstanding Senior Resident Assistant of the Year – Timothy Rose
  • Outstanding First-Year Living/Learning Community Program – Timothy Mulrey, Natasha Shiku, Laura Wrobel
  • Distinguished Service to Housing and Residential Education – Trevor Faria and Zainab Hussein
  • Student Government Association Representatives of the Year – Elizabeth Anusauskas and Nathan Curewitz
  • Student Government Association Senator of the Year – Alex Fossel and Elena O’Connor
  • Student Government Association Committee Chair of the Year – Sierra Renaghan
  • Walter Cass Faculty Recognition Award (Presented by the Class of 2019) – Dan Braha
  • Distinguished Service to the University Award (Presented by the Class of 2019) – Christina Bruen
  • Susan T. Costa Leadership Award – Mackenzie Bumpus
  • Louise M. Goodrum Unsung Heroes – Nicole Arruda, Maurice Cyr, Katey Wright
  • Lamar E. McClinton Student Leadership Award – Amy Boateng
  • Donald C. Howard Pillars of the Community – Amy Boateng, Jayashree Chakravarty, Eric James, Melissa Mello, Gabriela Pires, Elaine Sanchez, Kebeh Sando, Natasha Shiku, Tyler Varda

Departments Student Affairs, News and Public Information