Skip to main content.

Research Celebration Events

Scholarship Recognition Event Booklet

The Research Celebration Reception Event was held on April 25, 2022 to celebrate a selection of notable faculty accomplishments.

National Recognition

Melvyn Huff 

Chosen to serve on the National Science Board from 2020-2026. The NSB has 25 members who, together with the Director, determine the direction of the National Science Foundation. Jointly the Board and the Director pursue the goals and function of the NSF, including the duty to "recommend and encourage the pursuit of national policies for the promotion of research and education in science and engineering."

Kevin Stokesbury

Elected to the National Academy of Sciences’ Committee on the Assessment and Advancement of Science in the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management's (BOEM) Environmental Studies Program. BOEM’s Environmental Studies Program develops, funds, and manages rigorous scientific research specifically to inform policy decisions on the development of energy and mineral resources, according to BOEM’s website.

Fulbright and Carnegie Foundation Fellowships 

Bridget Teboh - Carnegie African Diaspora Fellowship 

Anna Klobucka Fulbright Scholar to University of Lisbon

Soheil Sibari - Fulbright Scholar to University of Capetown

Dilshod Achilov - Fulbright Scholar to Al-Farabi Kazakh National University

Prizes & Awards for Scholarships 

Michelle Bowers - Society of Typographic Arts STA 100 Award 

Melissa Desroches - Building for Scale Scholar at Johns Hopkins School of Nursing RESILIENCE Center 

Jeremiah Ho - Dukeminier Award from the Williams Institute at UCLA Law School for his work in LGBTQ legal scholarship 

Juried Works and Exhibits 

Mwalim Peters - Multiple Commissioned Plays

Jing Wang - Juried Musical Compositions

Rebecca Hutchinson - Art Work Commissioned by Boston Children’s Hospital

Gabo Camnitzer - Exhibit at the Queens Museum

Notable Publications 

Anupama Arora -  Bollywood’s New Woman: Liberalization, Liberation, and Contested Bodies (Rutgers University Press)

Avijit Gangopadhyay - Introduction to Ocean Circulation & Modeling (CRC Press)

Pamela Karimi - Alternative Iran (Stanford University Press)

Timothy Walker - Sailing to Freedom: Maritime Dimensions of the Underground Railroad (University of Massachusetts Press)

First Ever Grants to our Campus

Julia Fang - R01 Grant from the NIH

John Buck Multi University Research Initiative (MURI) Grant from the ONR

Notable Grants for Junior Faculty

Banafsheh Seyed-Aghazadeh - NSF-CAREER and Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award

Arghavan Louhghalam - NSF-CAREER 

Grants in Support of Students in STEM

Yanlai Chen - S-STEM Award

Tracie Ferreira - S-STEM Award

NSF Research Experience for Undergraduate Grants

Shao Ming - NSF REU Award

Vijay Chalivendra - NSF REU Award

Other Awards

Scott Field - NSF & NASA Grants 

Gavin Fay - NOAA & NSF

Steve Lohrenz - Massachusetts Tech Collaborative

Roulin Zhou ONR & NSF

Anthony Arrigo - National Endowment for the Arts

Firas Khatib - NSF

Hangjian Ling - NSF

Kihan Park NSF

Monika Schuler - NSF

Rebecca Uchill  - Henry Luce Foundation Award

Xiofei Jia - NIH

David Manke & Marilyn Naeem - First Crystal Structure of Serotonin

Samuel Peck - Essay in Storytellers of Art Histories (Intellect Books) 

Back to top of screen